E-Resources Digest

If you're looking for a news article in NewsBank and can't seem to find it anywhere, it could be because it is a "Digital Edition" or an "Online Only" article.

Most news publishers have created an online platform to provide access to their printed articles that you can find in the daily newspaper from Food Lion. However, these platforms sometimes publish articles that are only available on their website-based newspaper. For these types of articles, a couple of things can happen:

1. Those online, digital articles are not available in our catalog even if we subscribe to the newspaper;
2. Those articles are available, but the publisher has created two titles in their online platform to separate out the "Online Only" content from their everyday, printed articles

While this can be frustrating, NewsBank separates most (if not all) of their "Online Only" content into a separate listing in their database. Specifically, you'll find one listing for the newspaper The Guardian and another listing for the Online Only content called The Guardian: The Web Edition Articles.  

Here are a couple of ways to see if NewsBank offers digital edition articles for a newspaper:

Searching From the Library Catalog

From the library homepage beneath the search box, select Journals. Start typing Atlantic web edition and hit enter. "Web Editions" is added to most (if not all) of NewsBanks titles that have "Online Only" or "Web Edition" articles, with this case being Atlantic: Web Edition Articles (USA):

Searching in NewsBank

Another way is by going to the NewsBank platform and selecting A-Z Source List at the top of the page:

Then, in the search box, start typing Atlantic and you'll notice many options will appear — but you'll see two in particular: Atlantic, The and Atlantic: Web Edition Articles (USA). The "Web Edition Articles" version will include the "Online Only" content. From there, you can select the title and search for the article:

Outside of the The Atlantic, you can use the Journal Search in the library catalog to type in Web Edition and a variety of titles will appear that contain digital edition articles that other platforms may not supply. 

So when in doubt, you can check NewsBank to see if we have the newspaper you need and if there is a "Web Edition" title available that can be searched. 

The Gale Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a comprehensive primary source collection that focuses on the nineteenth century, a time defined as "the first great age of industrialization and technological innovation". The collections featured in this resource offer a multi-perspective view by touching on politics, arts, religion, commerce, and more to allow you to make connections across a variety of disciplines. You can explore the entire series, or view the individual collections: 

• Asia and the West

• British Politics and Society

• British Theatre, Music, and Literature

• Children’s Literature and Childhood

• Europe and Africa, Colonialism and Culture

• European Literature, the Corvey Collection, 1790-1840

• Maps and Travel Literature

• Photography

• Religion, Reform, and Society

• Science, Technology, and Medicine, Part I

• Science, Technology, and Medicine, Part II

• Women and Transnational Networks

We recently acquired LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, a two-part collection under The Gale Archives of Sexuality and Gender. This award-winning collection series highlights important aspects of LGBTQ life and the cultural, sociological development of LGBTQ groups during the later half of the twentieth century. You can find posters, personal papers, government correspondences, and much more for you to make connections between the present and the past, and uncover stories and first-hand experiences of the LGBTQ community.

The Charlotte Business Journal features breaking news in the business industry, and considered a key title for business leaders and researchers. The journal will compliment your text book and academic learning with local Business News throughout the Charlotte metropolitan area, across 18 different industries locally — our access includes the Charlotte Business Journal Weekly Edition and Books of Lists (going back 6-7 years), Local Search Archives, Back Issues from the past six years, and much more!

If you want to access the resource, simply click this link to create your free membership using your university email address. If you already have an account and password created with your university email address, you can click Sign-In and get access to content instantly.

You can also view this 4-minute training video that offers great insights to what the Business Journal offers users with their access and how to best navigate the site. 

For those of you who want to access this resource off-campus, you will need to install and use the UNC Charlotte VPN. You can find instructions on installing and using the VPN at the following links:

• Downloading and Installing the VPN on a Personal Computer
• Downloading and Installing the VPN on a Mobile Device
• Connecting to the VPN

Before you begin using the search bar in the Charlotte Business Journal, you'll want to make sure you use the "Select a City" drop-down menu at the top left of the screen and choose Charlotte.

 

 

Wiley's The Companions to the History of Architecture is a reference work featuring illustrations, photographs, drawings, and invaluable knowledge in the field of architecture. From critical scholarship to light-and-fresh ideas, this resource can support coursework and feed the minds of the architectural enthusiast. 

We recently acquired volumes 1 through 17 of the journal Foundations and Trends in Marketing from Now Publishers. Volume 17 has not yet been published, but will become available once it has been released. You'll need to be connected to the UNC Charlotte VPN if you would like to access this resource off-campus. 

Pride month is meant to celebrate and highlight the LGBTQ community; to take a moment to reflect on the history of the movement; and to learn about the experiences of the individuals who not only are a part of the LGBTQ community, but also those that made a significant impact during the movement.

In honor of Pride Month, Atkins wants to highlight the Gale Archives of Sexuality and Gender, a primary source collection featuring the The LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 archival collections. This two-part collection highlights important aspects of LGBTQ life and the cultural, sociological development of LGBTQ groups during the later half of the twentieth century.

This award-winning collection features journals, personal papers, posters, and a variety of other content types, allowing users to make connections between the past and the present about the experience amongst LGBTQ communities. 

So take a moment and explore this online archive — explore Pride Week posters of the late 1970s in the Posters from the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives collection, view documents and correspondences about the Bush Administration response to the AIDS crisis during the 1980s, or learn about the first-hand experiences of Ms. Bob Davis, the first openly transgender tenured faculty member of City College of San Francisco.

You can view more content by visiting the homepages for each of the collections:

• LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part I
• LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part II

Films on Demand is celebrating Pride Month. Go check out their LGBT Pride Month collection!

June 2022

For the month of June, Atkins Library wants to put the spotlight on Digital Theatre+, a leading database providing access to thousands of resources supporting the performing and literary arts.

Digital Theatre+ provides access to thousands of online resources from leading theatre practitioners and scholars, connecting you to key dramatic works and performances through both video and text. You can view over 550 full-length British theatre productions from Shakespeare to London's West End. Each performance includes educational resources, like study guides and interviews with experts. In addition, it includes opera, musical theatre, dance/ballet, symphonic and chamber music, plus theatre from Russia and South Asia, as well as film shorts. There are a variety of ways you can explore and discover content, from viewing a full list of the available titles to exploring specific themes. 

For those of you who are new to using Digital Theatre+, you can view introductory videos on how to use the database and topic-specific videos to help you easily find the content you need. 

If you have any questions or comments about this resource, you can reach out to our Arts and Architecture Librarian, Jenna Rinalducci (email: jrinaldu@uncc.edu).