E-Resources Digest

Hispanic Life in America, Series 3 (2010-Present) is one of the two DEI collections recently added to our collection, thanks to our NewsBank Access World News Research Collection upgrade. As recorded by the news media, this collection captures the experience and impact of Hispanic Americans from 2010 to present day. Featuring multidisciplinary content in a variety of formats, the resources in this collection support discussions on Hispanic heritage, history, culture, and daily life. You will find this collection to be a helpful tool for your independent research, course assignments, and personal pursuit of knowledge. 

The collection is organized by events, topics and eras with subtopics for each listed section such as historical reflections, religion, arts and much more. While you can search and browse as you would any other database, you can also use the collection's "map search" feature where you can filter your search results to only include content from a particular location.

We want your feedback on this new resource. Leave a comment to let us know what you think! 

Black Life in America, Series 3 (1976-Present) was recently included in our NewsBank Access World News Research Collection upgrade, and will be essential in your research and course assignments if you're trying to explore the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. This multi-disciplinary collection is designed to foster discussions and research related to diversity, equity, inclusion, and social justice in America from 1976 to present day.

The database collection is organized by centuries, and covers religion, court decisions, protests, society & culture, and more. You can choose to search or browse the content as you would any other database, or you can use the "map search" feature where filter your search to only show content created from a particular location.

We want your feedback on this new resource. Leave a comment to let us know what you think!

August 2022

For all of our ornithology researchers and bird enthusiasts, we are putting the spotlight on Cornell’s Birds of the World database for the month of August. This database brings in scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology into a one-stop comprehensive destination for all things birds. 

The database features over 10,000 bird species along with their noted families, images, and listed eBird observations. You can search the database for a specific bird, use the “surprise me” button to view a random bird profile, or browse the database in a variety of different ways. The taxonomy explorer makes it easy to explore the different regions, conservation statuses, and families of birds. The website also features bird news, database updates, and you can explore their free Merlin Bird ID phone app for on-the-go bird identification.

Contact our Science Librarian, Melanie Sorrell, for more information about this database. You can also view the Birds of the World Digital Flyer for a quick overview about the resource.

The Noun Project is a company that holds an extensive collection of icons with a global community of designers from more than 120 countries. While there are collections of icons that can be purchased, there are also thousands of icons that are free to use as long as you credit the creator. Whether you are building a website, creating an infographic, or developing marketing materials, the Noun Project has something for everyone and everything!

Icons, images, and other types of media are commonly used to enhance content and communicate meaning in everyday life. So for your next school project, conference poster, or PowerPoint lecture, think about how you can incorporate icons into your work. 

Here are some useful and interesting guide posts for you to browse:

• Free Resources for Teachers — Includes access to a variety of templates for teaching materials such as flashcards, graphic organizers, lab procedures, and much more. 
• Why are Marketing Materials Important? — This post explains the importance of effective marketing materials and showcases 15+ examples of different types of materials. 
• 10 Types of Graphic Design in 2022 — Explores the types of graphic design in today's society and the different careers that incorporate those design types. 

You can view more posts on the Noun Project Blog. 

Kickstart your fall studies this summer with Value Line’s investment research platform.

Value Line Investment Survey allows users to explore over 3,500 stocks across hundreds of industries using interactive tools and in-depth reports!

Need some help with the resource? Contact our Social Sciences & Business Librarian, Angel Truesdale, or view the user guides listed below:

• Navigation Overview
• The Research Report
• The Chart Module
• Using the Stock Screener Tool

LGBTQ+ Rights is a database featuring materials relating to the gay rights movement in America. The platform is organized by subject and then divided into other subcollections:

• Marriage and Family 
• Employment Discrimination
• Military Service
• AIDS and Health Care
• Public Spaces and Accommodations
• Historical Attitudes and Analysis

The overall collection features court cases, scholarly articles, and much more for you to learn in a variety of ways. The database also has a unique interactive timeline for you to click through and discover key events about the LGBTQ+ movement in America.

You can use the direct link above to get to the database and you can find additional information, search tips, and helpful resources at HeinOnline's LGBTQ+ Rights LibGuide