Erika Boardman
Check out this short documentary Signing Black in America that explores the unique dialect of American Sign Language (ASL) that developed within historically segregated African American Deaf communities.
Hispanic Life in America, Series 3 (2010-Present) is one of the two DEI collections recently added to our collection, thanks to our NewsBank Access World News Research Collection upgrade. As recorded by the news media, this collection captures the experience and impact of Hispanic Americans from 2010 to present day. Featuring multidisciplinary content in a variety of formats, the resources in this collection support discussions on Hispanic heritage, history, culture, and daily life. You will find this collection to be a helpful tool for your independent research, course assignments, and personal pursuit of knowledge.
The collection is organized by events, topics and eras with subtopics for each listed section such as historical reflections, religion, arts and much more. While you can search and browse as you would any other database, you can also use the collection's "map search" feature where you can filter your search results to only include content from a particular location.
We want your feedback on this new resource. Leave a comment to let us know what you think!
Black Life in America, Series 3 (1976-Present) was recently included in our NewsBank Access World News Research Collection upgrade, and will be essential in your research and course assignments if you're trying to explore the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. This multi-disciplinary collection is designed to foster discussions and research related to diversity, equity, inclusion, and social justice in America from 1976 to present day.
The database collection is organized by centuries, and covers religion, court decisions, protests, society & culture, and more. You can choose to search or browse the content as you would any other database, or you can use the "map search" feature where filter your search to only show content created from a particular location.
We want your feedback on this new resource. Leave a comment to let us know what you think!