E-Resources Digest

Swank Digital Campus provides access to streaming films that support instruction both in and outside of the classroom, and to promote active and engaged learning. Featuring a mix of classic flicks and popular favorites, our Swank collection includes course-assigned films and other hand-picked titles by our Film Studies librarian. Some recently available films include Get Out (2017), Moana (2016), Joker (2019), and The Wizard of Oz (1939). These films may switch out every now and again, so make sure you check out the titles that are now available from Swank — Be sure to select "Student" if you are prompted to choose a role.

You can also check out our Swank Film Library Collection!

If you're an instructor interested in using a streaming video for one of your courses, you can use our Electronic Course Material Request Form to let us know you're planning on using an existing film from our collection or to request we purchase one for you!

June 2022

For the month of June, Atkins Library wants to put the spotlight on Digital Theatre+, a leading database providing access to thousands of resources supporting the performing and literary arts.

Digital Theatre+ provides access to thousands of online resources from leading theatre practitioners and scholars, connecting you to key dramatic works and performances through both video and text. You can view over 550 full-length British theatre productions from Shakespeare to London's West End. Each performance includes educational resources, like study guides and interviews with experts. In addition, it includes opera, musical theatre, dance/ballet, symphonic and chamber music, plus theatre from Russia and South Asia, as well as film shorts. There are a variety of ways you can explore and discover content, from viewing a full list of the available titles to exploring specific themes. 

For those of you who are new to using Digital Theatre+, you can view introductory videos on how to use the database and topic-specific videos to help you easily find the content you need. 

If you have any questions or comments about this resource, you can reach out to our Arts and Architecture Librarian, Jenna Rinalducci (email: jrinaldu@uncc.edu).

May 2022
 

May’s E-Resource of the month is Academic Video Online from Alexander Street Press.

Academic Video Online is a comprehensive streaming video database with over 70,000 titles that span across a variety of disciplines including nursing, music and performing arts, anthropology, and much more. The database offers a variety of resources that can expand on existing coursework and enhance learning experiences outside of the books including documentaries, award-winning films, and even general instructional materials. It also hosts content produced, filmed, and distributed by top names in the media industry including Sony Pictures Classics, the Wall Street Journal, BBC, and more. 

Alexander Street Press supports the need for accessible content and is motivated in ensuring their collections to every person. Academic Video Online provides closed-captioning for over 80% of their content and searchable transcripts for over 95% of their content, with the ability for users to request a title to be transcribed if it hasn’t been done so already. You can access their full accessibility statement online for free.

So whether you’re writing a research paper, teaching a course for the upcoming semester, or are just looking to discover something new, Academic Video Online is guaranteed to enhance any learning experience. 

If you have any questions or comments about this resource, you can reach out to our First-Year and Online Learning Librarian, Marc Bess (email: mcbess@uncc.edu).