Erika Boardman
NAACP Papers and Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century
Our AM Explorer subscription features award-winning archival collections, with new collections being released to us each year that contain millions of pages of unique primary source content.
Check out July's Library Collections News Spotlight post for more insight on a few featured collections, and access to the full AM Explorer Collections List.
November 2022
For the month of November, we are highlighting East View’s World News Connection Archive, an online database providing researchers and scholars with the most comprehensive collection covering the original World News Connection service from 1995 to 2013.
This archive stems from the original World News Connection, which started in 1995 by providing access to open-source materials from around the world – selected and methodically translated into English by analysts from the U.S. Government’s domestic and overseas bureaus. Daily updates were sourced from newspaper articles, television and radio broadcasts, online sources, conference proceedings, periodicals, and non-classified reports, and offered timely coverage of the latest socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.
The daily updates were discontinued in 2013 and are now stored in this archive, which contains over 1 million foreign newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts and datelines from Beijing, Beirut, Bogota, Cairo, Jakarta, Iraq, Mogadishu, Qatar, Ramallah, Sarajevo, Vienna, and hundreds of other locations around the world. With content from 500 translated news sources and over 130 countries, the database offers a clean, intuitive interface with searchable full-text content. You can choose to browse the database casually or take advantage of the powerful search tools that allow users to search the full text or metadata fields, including source title, country or city of source, source language, date of publication, topic and more.
Want to know what countries and titles are available? You can view and search the World News Connection Country and Title List. You can also contact our Social Sciences & History Librarian, Amanda Binder, to learn more about this news archive.
Visit the Electronic Resources Research Guide to view past spotlights, resources news, troubleshooting help, and more.
Hispanic Life in America, Series 3 (2010-Present) is one of the two DEI collections recently added to our collection, thanks to our NewsBank Access World News Research Collection upgrade. As recorded by the news media, this collection captures the experience and impact of Hispanic Americans from 2010 to present day. Featuring multidisciplinary content in a variety of formats, the resources in this collection support discussions on Hispanic heritage, history, culture, and daily life. You will find this collection to be a helpful tool for your independent research, course assignments, and personal pursuit of knowledge.
The collection is organized by events, topics and eras with subtopics for each listed section such as historical reflections, religion, arts and much more. While you can search and browse as you would any other database, you can also use the collection's "map search" feature where you can filter your search results to only include content from a particular location.
We want your feedback on this new resource. Leave a comment to let us know what you think!
Black Life in America, Series 3 (1976-Present) was recently included in our NewsBank Access World News Research Collection upgrade, and will be essential in your research and course assignments if you're trying to explore the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. This multi-disciplinary collection is designed to foster discussions and research related to diversity, equity, inclusion, and social justice in America from 1976 to present day.
The database collection is organized by centuries, and covers religion, court decisions, protests, society & culture, and more. You can choose to search or browse the content as you would any other database, or you can use the "map search" feature where filter your search to only show content created from a particular location.
We want your feedback on this new resource. Leave a comment to let us know what you think!
LGBTQ+ Rights is a database featuring materials relating to the gay rights movement in America. The platform is organized by subject and then divided into other subcollections:
- Marriage and Family
- Employment Discrimination
- Military Service
- AIDS and Health Care
- Public Spaces and Accommodations
- Historical Attitudes and Analysis
The overall collection features court cases, scholarly articles, and much more for you to learn in a variety of ways. The database also has a unique interactive timeline for you to click through and discover key events about the LGBTQ+ movement in America.
You can use the direct link above to get to the database and you can find additional information, search tips, and helpful resources at HeinOnline's LGBTQ+ Rights LibGuide
The Gale Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a comprehensive primary source collection that focuses on the nineteenth century, a time defined as "the first great age of industrialization and technological innovation". The collections featured in this resource offer a multi-perspective view by touching on politics, arts, religion, commerce, and more to allow you to make connections across a variety of disciplines. You can explore the entire series, or view the individual collections: