Erika Boardman
Have you ever heard your librarian use a word that you've never heard before, or ever wondered what an "abstract" or a "boolean search" is? Check out this short one-page handout by EBSCO that highlights a few key terms you may hear during your time at UNC Charlotte and at the Atkins Library.
Discover more ways that the library can assist you by visiting our Get Research Help webpage.
Download PDF
Hispanic Life in America, Series 3 (2010-Present) is one of the two DEI collections recently added to our collection, thanks to our NewsBank Access World News Research Collection upgrade. As recorded by the news media, this collection captures the experience and impact of Hispanic Americans from 2010 to present day. Featuring multidisciplinary content in a variety of formats, the resources in this collection support discussions on Hispanic heritage, history, culture, and daily life. You will find this collection to be a helpful tool for your independent research, course assignments, and personal pursuit of knowledge.
The collection is organized by events, topics and eras with subtopics for each listed section such as historical reflections, religion, arts and much more. While you can search and browse as you would any other database, you can also use the collection's "map search" feature where you can filter your search results to only include content from a particular location.
We want your feedback on this new resource. Leave a comment to let us know what you think!
Black Life in America, Series 3 (1976-Present) was recently included in our NewsBank Access World News Research Collection upgrade, and will be essential in your research and course assignments if you're trying to explore the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. This multi-disciplinary collection is designed to foster discussions and research related to diversity, equity, inclusion, and social justice in America from 1976 to present day.
The database collection is organized by centuries, and covers religion, court decisions, protests, society & culture, and more. You can choose to search or browse the content as you would any other database, or you can use the "map search" feature where filter your search to only show content created from a particular location.
We want your feedback on this new resource. Leave a comment to let us know what you think!
June 2022
For the month of June, Atkins Library wants to put the spotlight on Digital Theatre+, a leading database providing access to thousands of resources supporting the performing and literary arts.
Digital Theatre+ provides access to thousands of online resources from leading theatre practitioners and scholars, connecting you to key dramatic works and performances through both video and text. You can view over 550 full-length British theatre productions from Shakespeare to London's West End. Each performance includes educational resources, like study guides and interviews with experts. In addition, it includes opera, musical theatre, dance/ballet, symphonic and chamber music, plus theatre from Russia and South Asia, as well as film shorts. There are a variety of ways you can explore and discover content, from viewing a full list of the available titles to exploring specific themes.
For those of you who are new to using Digital Theatre+, you can view introductory videos on how to use the database and topic-specific videos to help you easily find the content you need.
If you have any questions or comments about this resource, you can reach out to our Arts and Architecture Librarian, Jenna Rinalducci (email: jrinaldu@uncc.edu).
