E-Resources Digest

LGBTQ+ Rights is a database featuring materials relating to the gay rights movement in America. The platform is organized by subject and then divided into other subcollections:

• Marriage and Family 
• Employment Discrimination
• Military Service
• AIDS and Health Care
• Public Spaces and Accommodations
• Historical Attitudes and Analysis

The overall collection features court cases, scholarly articles, and much more for you to learn in a variety of ways. The database also has a unique interactive timeline for you to click through and discover key events about the LGBTQ+ movement in America.

You can use the direct link above to get to the database and you can find additional information, search tips, and helpful resources at HeinOnline's LGBTQ+ Rights LibGuide

We recently acquired LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, a two-part collection under The Gale Archives of Sexuality and Gender. This award-winning collection series highlights important aspects of LGBTQ life and the cultural, sociological development of LGBTQ groups during the later half of the twentieth century. You can find posters, personal papers, government correspondences, and much more for you to make connections between the present and the past, and uncover stories and first-hand experiences of the LGBTQ community.

Pride month is meant to celebrate and highlight the LGBTQ community; to take a moment to reflect on the history of the movement; and to learn about the experiences of the individuals who not only are a part of the LGBTQ community, but also those that made a significant impact during the movement.

In honor of Pride Month, Atkins wants to highlight the Gale Archives of Sexuality and Gender, a primary source collection featuring the The LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 archival collections. This two-part collection highlights important aspects of LGBTQ life and the cultural, sociological development of LGBTQ groups during the later half of the twentieth century.

This award-winning collection features journals, personal papers, posters, and a variety of other content types, allowing users to make connections between the past and the present about the experience amongst LGBTQ communities. 

So take a moment and explore this online archive — explore Pride Week posters of the late 1970s in the Posters from the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives collection, view documents and correspondences about the Bush Administration response to the AIDS crisis during the 1980s, or learn about the first-hand experiences of Ms. Bob Davis, the first openly transgender tenured faculty member of City College of San Francisco.

You can view more content by visiting the homepages for each of the collections:

• LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part I
• LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part II