Erika Boardman
Check out some of our books from the Self-Care Collection!
Swank Digital Campus provides access to streaming films that support instruction both in and outside of the classroom, and to promote active and engaged learning. Featuring a mix of classic flicks and popular favorites, our Swank collection includes course-assigned films and other hand-picked titles by our Film Studies librarian. Some recently available films include Get Out (2017), Moana (2016), Joker (2019), and The Wizard of Oz (1939). These films may switch out every now and again, so make sure you check out the titles that are now available from Swank — Be sure to select "Student" if you are prompted to choose a role.
You can also check out our Swank Film Library Collection!
If you're an instructor interested in using a streaming video for one of your courses, you can use our Electronic Course Material Request Form to let us know you're planning on using an existing film from our collection or to request we purchase one for you!
Elsevier's ScienceDirect platform has released some new functionalities to improve the overall research experience of the platform!
Autosuggest
Autosuggest is now available via ScienceDirect Search which provides a smoother search experience by conveniently connecting users to relevant search terms. Behind the scenes, the autosuggest algorithm is based on commonly occurring words & phrases found within a corpus of Scopus abstracts, combined with the frequency of those terms within the same abstracts. You can find this new functionality using Advanced Search:
Topics Homepage
At the bottom of the page for ScienceDirect, you can select Browse by Topic, users can now search/browse through a page of Topic Tiles to explore specific subject areas or to get up to speed on new topics in a particular area. The topic pages can also be shared directly as a starting place for research discovery.
You simply select one of the tiles, and you'll be taken to a page with a brief description of the subject and a list of relevant subject terms:
We'd love to hear your feedback about this enhancement — Go visit ScienceDirect and let us know what you think!
November 2022
For the month of November, we are highlighting East View’s World News Connection Archive, an online database providing researchers and scholars with the most comprehensive collection covering the original World News Connection service from 1995 to 2013.
This archive stems from the original World News Connection, which started in 1995 by providing access to open-source materials from around the world – selected and methodically translated into English by analysts from the U.S. Government’s domestic and overseas bureaus. Daily updates were sourced from newspaper articles, television and radio broadcasts, online sources, conference proceedings, periodicals, and non-classified reports, and offered timely coverage of the latest socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.
The daily updates were discontinued in 2013 and are now stored in this archive, which contains over 1 million foreign newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts and datelines from Beijing, Beirut, Bogota, Cairo, Jakarta, Iraq, Mogadishu, Qatar, Ramallah, Sarajevo, Vienna, and hundreds of other locations around the world. With content from 500 translated news sources and over 130 countries, the database offers a clean, intuitive interface with searchable full-text content. You can choose to browse the database casually or take advantage of the powerful search tools that allow users to search the full text or metadata fields, including source title, country or city of source, source language, date of publication, topic and more.
Want to know what countries and titles are available? You can view and search the World News Connection Country and Title List. You can also contact our Social Sciences & History Librarian, Amanda Binder, to learn more about this news archive.
Visit the Electronic Resources Research Guide to view past spotlights, resources news, troubleshooting help, and more.
October 2022
For October, Atkins is highlighting Clarivate's InCites Benchmarking & Analytics, an intuitive citation-based research evaluation tool designed for researchers to get a glimpse at the current state of the scholarly playing field.
InCites brings in publication data from Web of Science indexes that allows you to analyze research impact, trends and activities from a variety of angles. You can create your own customized analyses and detailed reports with fields, metrics and filters of your choosing. You can jump in and make your own report, or you can explore pre-made analyses to spark ideas on the many ways you can learn about the current state of research activity.
Whether you want to know the top performing organizations or which research areas have the highest activity in a specific country, InCites provides you with the tools and information to make informed decisions about your own research activities. Discover emerging subject areas and influential researchers, or gain ideas for where to publish your research next. Clarivate provides a handful of online resources including webinars, live training, self-guided courses and a handful of manuals to assist you with your evaluation.
For more information about how you can benefit from this resource, reach out to your Subject Librarian.
Have you ever heard your librarian use a word that you've never heard before, or ever wondered what an "abstract" or a "boolean search" is? Check out this short one-page handout by EBSCO that highlights a few key terms you may hear during your time at UNC Charlotte and at the Atkins Library.
Discover more ways that the library can assist you by visiting our Get Research Help webpage.
Download PDF
The Noun Project is a company that holds an extensive collection of icons with a global community of designers from more than 120 countries. While there are collections of icons that can be purchased, there are also thousands of icons that are free to use as long as you credit the creator. Whether you are building a website, creating an infographic, or developing marketing materials, the Noun Project has something for everyone and everything!
Icons, images, and other types of media are commonly used to enhance content and communicate meaning in everyday life. So for your next school project, conference poster, or PowerPoint lecture, think about how you can incorporate icons into your work.
Here are some useful and interesting guide posts for you to browse:
- Free Resources for Teachers — Includes access to a variety of templates for teaching materials such as flashcards, graphic organizers, lab procedures, and much more.
- Why are Marketing Materials Important? — This post explains the importance of effective marketing materials and showcases 15+ examples of different types of materials.
- 10 Types of Graphic Design in 2022 — Explores the types of graphic design in today's society and the different careers that incorporate those design types.
You can view more posts on the Noun Project Blog.
If you're looking for a news article in NewsBank and can't seem to find it anywhere, it could be because it is a "Digital Edition" or an "Online Only" article.
Most news publishers have created an online platform to provide access to their printed articles that you can find in the daily newspaper from Food Lion. However, these platforms sometimes publish articles that are only available on their website-based newspaper. For these types of articles, a couple of things can happen:
- Those online, digital articles are not available in our catalog even if we subscribe to the newspaper;
- Those articles are available, but the publisher has created two titles in their online platform to separate out the "Online Only" content from their everyday, printed articles
While this can be frustrating, NewsBank separates most (if not all) of their "Online Only" content into a separate listing in their database. Specifically, you'll find one listing for the newspaper The Guardian and another listing for the Online Only content called The Guardian: The Web Edition Articles.
Here are a couple of ways to see if NewsBank offers digital edition articles for a newspaper:
Searching From the Library Catalog
From the library homepage beneath the search box, select Journals. Start typing Atlantic web edition and hit enter. "Web Editions" is added to most (if not all) of NewsBanks titles that have "Online Only" or "Web Edition" articles, with this case being Atlantic: Web Edition Articles (USA):
Searching in NewsBank
Another way is by going to the NewsBank platform and selecting A-Z Source List at the top of the page:
Then, in the search box, start typing Atlantic and you'll notice many options will appear — but you'll see two in particular: Atlantic, The and Atlantic: Web Edition Articles (USA). The "Web Edition Articles" version will include the "Online Only" content. From there, you can select the title and search for the article:
Outside of the The Atlantic, you can use the Journal Search in the library catalog to type in Web Edition and a variety of titles will appear that contain digital edition articles that other platforms may not supply.
So when in doubt, you can check NewsBank to see if we have the newspaper you need and if there is a "Web Edition" title available that can be searched.
May 2022
May’s E-Resource of the month is Academic Video Online from Alexander Street Press.
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive streaming video database with over 70,000 titles that span across a variety of disciplines including nursing, music and performing arts, anthropology, and much more. The database offers a variety of resources that can expand on existing coursework and enhance learning experiences outside of the books including documentaries, award-winning films, and even general instructional materials. It also hosts content produced, filmed, and distributed by top names in the media industry including Sony Pictures Classics, the Wall Street Journal, BBC, and more.
Alexander Street Press supports the need for accessible content and is motivated in ensuring their collections to every person. Academic Video Online provides closed-captioning for over 80% of their content and searchable transcripts for over 95% of their content, with the ability for users to request a title to be transcribed if it hasn’t been done so already. You can access their full accessibility statement online for free.
So whether you’re writing a research paper, teaching a course for the upcoming semester, or are just looking to discover something new, Academic Video Online is guaranteed to enhance any learning experience.
If you have any questions or comments about this resource, you can reach out to our First-Year and Online Learning Librarian, Marc Bess (email: mcbess@uncc.edu).