Do you know who your personal subject librarian is yet? Every academic department and program is assigned a subject librarian who can assist students with in-depth, subject specific research help. Once you've settled on your field of study, find out who yours is by finding your subject listed on the Subject Librarians page of our website.
Use this form or email your Subject Librarian to request a research consultation. Virtual Zoom appointments available upon request.
Currently enrolled UNC Charlotte students may borrow PC and Mac laptops on a first come, first served basis at the Information and Research Desk located on the first floor of Atkins Library near the main entrance.
Students must present their UNC Charlotte ID to borrow a laptop. The library does not accept temporary UNC Charlotte IDs.
Laptops can be checked out for seven days. Students may contact the Information and Research Desk (704-687-0491) with questions or to renew their laptop loan period.
Find out more about our laptop loan policies and what software is available.
The Special Collections Reading Room is located on the 10th floor of Atkins Library Tower. Along with the Reading Room, the 10th floor also has a large study area with the best views on campus. Aside from the views, Special Collections and University Archives also hold various collections and rare books that cover the history of Charlotte, UNC Charlotte, and the people who live and study in both places.
The materials below are some of our most requested items and talked about materials that we have, and as students, you have access to these collections. While the materials below are our most popular you can search for items on any topic by searching our finding aids and rare books catalog.
During the fall and spring semesters, the Special Collections Reading Room is open Monday through Friday, from 10am to 5pm. You can also make an appointment by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org or email@example.com.
Harry Golden Papers Part 1 and Part 2: Harry Golden was a prominent writer who extensively wrote about the Civil Rights movement and founded the Carolina Israelite. The collection includes his speeches, photographs, and research materials he used to write a biography of Carl Sandburg and various books about the Kennedy family. Golden was also a prominent supporter of Martin Luther King, Jr., and this collection contains letters from King to Golden.
Sermones de patientia in Job et de poenitentia: This book is the oldest in the library and was published in 1471. The pages of the book are rag paper, which was a traditional method in early printing of boiling rags together to mold them into pages. The book is a sermon from Saint John Chrysostom focusing on the Book of Job.
Julius L. Chambers papers: These papers come from Julius Chambers, the attorney who brought forth the Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education. This case established integration at the Charlotte-Mecklenburg School System after the court found in favor of the Swanns. Some highlights of the collection include a letter from James Swann's father asking for help, maps of the redistricting as evidence for the case, and correspondence between Chambers and civil rights leaders. This collection is also available digitally through Goldmine.
The declaration of independence by the citizens of Mecklenburg County: This is the first known printing of what was described as the Meck Dec, which is an incident that may have occurred on May 20th, 1775 when Mecklenburg County locals came together after the Battle of Lexington to write their support for the patriots in New England against the King. While there is no conclusive stance on if this incident occurred or not, Charlotte still celebrates Meck Dec Day every May 20th with parades and historical reenactments in Uptown.
Pop-Up Book Collection: Our pop-up book collection covers themes from architecture, artists books, and children's books. Pop-up books are housed in Special Collections due to their fragile nature. Some favorite selections include Dr. Ernest Drakes' Dragonology, The Pop-Up Book of M.C. Escher, and Robert Crowther's amazing pop-up house of inventions.
Horn book: This popular artifact comes from the 18th century and was a tool used to teach schoolchildren how to read and write. Our horn book is a wooden paddle with a sheet of parchment that includes the alphabet and various simple words that would teach students their basic writing skills.
Atkins Library isn't just a source of academic texts and journals. We also carry a robust leisure reading collection for those that enjoy reading the latest bestsellers and popular titles. Our Popular Reading Collection is available to the left of our main entrance on the first floor and features both fiction and nonfiction titles.
We also feature monthly displays that showcase a range of popular fiction and nonfiction titles. Check back monthly to see which popular books we currently have on display.
Nothing exciting appearing on your favorite streaming platform? Come into Atkins Library and check out our large array of popular DVDs!
Loan periods differ for items in these two collections. Popular reading titles have a loan period of 21 days and popular DVDs have a loan period of 7 days.
Did you know that there is another library on campus besides Atkins? The Charles C. Hight Architecture Library is located on the second floor of Storrs Hall (Storrs 200). The primary focus of the collection is 20th & 21st century design, architects, and the built environment.
You can find the Architecture Library's hours of operation on our website.