Women's History Month

A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.

Searchable American newspaper collections, including African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; South Carolina's Historical Newspapers; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and selected historical newspapers.

Provides coverage of the achievements and contributions of African American women in sports, politics, academia, and business throughout history and highlights their contributions in America today.

Showcases unique primary source material for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries, c. 1800-1920.

Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection includes digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.

An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers and magazines produced by feminists, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, and the extreme right-wing press.

Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.

Full-text newspaper articles covering international, national, and local news. Includes the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Charlotte Observer, and many others.

Full text coverage of The New York Times online content from 1996-present, including blogs and podcasts.

Major global newspaper including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, as well as photos and advertisements.

Colonial to 1950 - includes the experiences of 632 women as revealed in diaries and letters.

Draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Articles address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.

Comprehensively covers the role women have played throughout world history. Contains biographies of influential women and articles covering geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies.

Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Provides peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health and is produced by the American Psychological Association.

Covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Includes a finding aid to women's studies resources in The National Archives (UK) and original documents pertaining to women's suffrage in Britain, the British Empire, and other colonial territories c. 1903-1962.