Within North Carolina:
The works of that eminent servant of Christ, John Bunyan: minister of the gospel and formerly Pastor of a Congregation at Bedford - The front free endpaper of vol. 3 and following pages contain lists in W.T. Alexander's hand of the birth and death dates of the children of Solomon and Violet Alexander, enslaved people who lived on the plantation. The list continues on the free endpapers at the back of the volume.
Behind the scenes : or, Thirty years a slave, and four years in the White House E457.15 .K26 1868 - The life story of Elizabeth Keckley, a formerly enslaved woman in Virginia and North Carolina who purchased freedom for herself and her son. They eventually moved to Washington, D.C., where she became the dressmaker for Mary Todd Lincoln.
The narrative of Lunsford Lane : formerly of Raleigh, N.C., embracing an account of his early life, the redemption by purchase of himself and family from slavery, and his banishment from the place of his birth for the crime of wearing a colored skin E444 .L26 1842 - A memoir written by Lunsford Lane, a formerly enslaved person from Raleigh, NC. Lane was born into slavery but eventually earned enough money as a woodcutter and tobacconist to purchase his and his family's freedom. The whole family had to flee to Boston where he practiced as a physician. This copy was printed in 1842 and is a second edition.
Poems by a Slave PS1999.H473 P6 1837 - A book of poems composed by George Moses Horton, an enslaved man in Chatham county, North Carolina at the time of its publication. Horton was later received his freedom when Union forces arrived in North Carolina. He later moved to Philadelphia and immigrated to Liberia in 1867.
A narrative of the adventures and escape of Moses Roper from American slavery E444 .R785 1838 - A narrative of the life of Moses Roper, a formerly enslaved man in Caswell county, North Carolina who escaped from slavery and sailed to England, where he lectured to the European public about the brutalities of American slavery.
Eight days with the Confederates and capture of their archives, flags etc. by Company "G" 9th New Jersey vol. - Pages 20-34 describe the initial occupation of Charlotte by Union troops in May 1865. There is also a mention of enslaved people in Charlotte immediately after emancipation.
Outside of North Carolina:
From slave cabin to the pulpit : the autobiography of Rev. Peter Randolph: the southern question illustrated and Sketches of slave life. Randolph, Peter, 1825?-1897.; Randolph, Peter, 1825?-1897.; Earle, James H. (Publisher), publisher. 1893 E443 .R19 - An autobiography of Peter Randolph, a formerly enslaved man who relocated from Virginia to Boston and became an abolitionist, pastor and community leader. The book is also available online here.
Poems on Various Subjects, Religious and Moral PS866 .W5 1773 - A collection of 39 poems published in Boston by Phillis Wheatley, an enslaved woman who was the first African-American woman whose writings were published. This copy is a first edition that is signed by the author. Also available online here.
Narrative of the life of Frederick Douglass, an American slave E449 .D746 - A memoir of Frederick Douglass' life as an enslaved man in Maryland from birth until 1838, when he successfully escaped to the North. This copy is a first edition from 1845 with an engraved portrait of Douglass and signed by William Lloyd Garrison. Atkins Library also contains other copies of this book In the general collection that are available for checkout.
Narrative of Sojourner Truth : a northern slave, emancipated from bodily servitude by the state of New York, in 1828. With a portrait. E185.97 .T87 1853 - A memoir of Sojourner Truth's life from her time as an enslaved woman in New York through her period as a social reformer and traveling preacher. First published in 1850, this copy is a very early edition that contains a portrait of Sojourner Truth.
Slavery E449 . C454 1835 - A book written by Boston Unitarian minister William Ellery Channing that spoke out against slavery and affirmed the human rights of enslaved people. Channing argued that slavery was immoral and should be abolished, this copy was published in 1835 during its first printing run and is in the original publisher's binding.
The Abolitionist E449 .A155 1833 - First edition of The Abolitionist journal produced by The New England Anti-Slavery Society. The Society, founded by William Lloyd Garrison, called for the immediate and uncompensated abolition of slavery in the United States.
Liberty Bell E449 .L68 1853 - The Liberty bell was an annual abolitionist gift book published by Maria Weston Chapman and the Boston Female Anti-Slavery Society
Autographs for freedom E449 .G85 1853 - A collection of signed articles and poems from men and women prominent in the anti-slavery movement.
The new revolution: a speech before the American Anti-Slavery Society, at their annual meeting in New York, May 12, 1857. E438 .H633 1857 - A speech by Thomas Wentworth Higginson to the American Anti-Slavery Society, printed in 1857. Higginson was a Unitarian minister from Massachusetts who was very active in the abolition movement and later served as colonel of the first federally authorized black regiment during the Civil War.
Slavery and marriage : a dialogue. HT861 .N69 1850 - A dialogue between Judge North, Major South and Mr. Free Church that argues for the abolition of both slavery and marriage. The book was written by John Humphrey Noyes, a utopian socialist who founded the Oneida community in 1848 in Oneida, New York.
Appeal to the Christian women of the South E449 .G861 1836 - A booklet written by Angelina Grimke that attempts to persuade Southern women of the immorality of slavery. Grimke was originally from Charleston but moved to the North as an adult and became a strong activist for both women's rights and the abolition of slavery. This copy is a first edition that contains the author's signature.
Perforations in the "Latter-day pamphlets," by one of the "eighteen millions of bores" HN388.C32 W8 1850 - A book focusing on universal suffrage, capital punishment and slavery written by Elizur Wright. Wright was a mathematician and abolitionist who also served as an insurance commissioner for the state of Massachusetts.
A Yankee in Canada, : with Anti-slavery and reform papers F1052 .T478 1866 - A collection of works by Henry David Thoreau that includes essays on abolition and support of John Brown. This copy is a first edition published 1866.
Slavery: letters and speeches E449 .M283 1851 - A collection of the letters and speeches of Horace Mann concerning slavery that primarily covers the years 1848-1851. Mann was an abolitionist and Whig politician who served in the United States House of Representatives from Massachusetts from 1848-1853.
The duty of disobedience to the Fugitive Slave Act : an appeal to the legislators of Massachusetts E449 .C534 1860 - A speech given to the Massachusetts legislators in 1860 by Lydia Maria Child. Child was an abolitionist and women's rights activist in Massachusetts who sought to bring down the white male-dominated structure that oppressed both the enslaved and women.
The New England anti-slavery almanac, for 1841 : being the 65th year of American independence : calculated for Boston and the eastern states. E449 .N54 1841 - A 36-page booklet published in Boston that mentions Quaker activists Howitt, Lundy and Whittier.
The hireling and the slave, Chicora, and other poems. PS1764 .G238 1856 - A book written by William J. Grayson in verse in which he attempts to defend slavery in the Southern United States. Grayson was a member of the United States House of Representatives from South Carolina and a defender of slavery as a positive good.
A defence of southern slavery : against the attacks of Henry Clay and Alex'r. Campbell. In which much of the false philanthropy and mawkish sentimentalism of the abolitionists is met and refuted : in which it is moreover shown that the association of the white and black races in the relation of master and slave is the appointed order of God, as set forth in the Bible, and constitutes the best social condition of both races, and the only true principle of republicanism E449 .B875 1851 - A pamphlet written by Iveson Brookes in response to Henry Clay's "Letter on emancipation" and Alexander Campbell's "Tract for the people of Kentucky" in which he attempts to defend slavery. Brookes was a Baptist minister from North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia and a staunch defender of slavery.
Revelations of a slave smuggler : being the autobiography of Capt. Rich'd [i.e. Philip] Drake, an African trader for fifty years-from 1807-1857 ; during which period he was concerned in the transportation of half a million Blacks from African coasts to America. HT1322 .D7 1860 - An autobiography of Richard Drake, who spent 50 years as a trader of enslaved people. Drake discusses his involvement in this trade as well as the treatment of enslaved people on the ships that transported them from Africa, which many abolitionists used to increase public support for ending slavery.
