Skip to Main Content

AFRS 3260: Slavery, Racism & Colonialism in the African Diaspora

Major Newspapers: United States

See "Historical Newspapers" for historical access to some of these newspapers.

New York Times (Print Edition)
Full text coverage from The New York Times newspaper (Late edition, East coast) June 1, 1980 - present
Wall Street Journal
This major United States business newspaper provides information on U.S. and international business. Full text coverage from 1984-present.
USA Today (via NewsBank)
USA Today full text from 1987 to the present.
Washington Post
Full text of The Washington Post newspaper from Dec 4, 1996 - present

Los Angeles Times
Full text available from 1996 to the present.
Chicago Tribune
Full text available from 1996 to the present.

Major Newspapers: Global

The Times (London)
Full text available from 1985.
China Daily
Full text available from 2013 to the present.
The Guardian (UK)
Coverage from 1996.
Al Jazeera (English)
Most current news from 2020
The Times of India
Indian English-language daily newspaper owned by The Times Group.
Le Monde
Full text available from 2001 to the present.

Local Newspapers

Charlotte Observer (1886-present)
Charlotte Observer online from 1886 to the present.
Raleigh News & Observer
Raleigh News & Observer full text from 1991 to the present.

Greensboro News & Record (via NewsBank)
Full text available from 1990 to the present.
The Charlotte Post (2006-present)
Minority owned and operated local newspaper dedicated to "educating, empowering and enlightening African-American communities" in the Charlotte region.

State (Columbia, S.C.) (via NewsBank)
The Columbia South Carolina State full text from 1987 to the present.

The Mecklenburg Times
Business and real estate news. Full text from 2008-present.