Charlotte's Founding Presbyterian Churches

Providence Presbyterian Church was established in 1767 by Rev. William Richardson. The church cemetery includes graves dated from 1764 as well as a separate section for the graves of enslaved people . The current church building was built in the Greek Revival style in 1858, using the labor of enslaved people.

You can read more about the history of Providence Presbyterian on their website: ppc1767.org/our-rich-history/.

Cemetery records are available through the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Story exhibits. 

Mecklenburg Historical Association Records - Box 3, Folder 34

• Photograph: Aaron Boggs & unidentified women at Providence Presbyterian Church, 1970

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Historic Landmarks Commission Records- Box 3, Folder 34

• Providence Presbyterian Church (1858): 10140 Providence Rd. Matthews 7/6/76

Cornelia Wearn Henderson Papers - Box 1, Folder 11

• Religion, 1923-1976

Mary Boyer collection of historical postcards and papers - Box 6.6

• Providence Presbyterian Church Cemetery 

History of the Providence Presbyterian Church up to 1846 by H.E.C. Bryant

A History of Providence Presbyterian Church, Mecklenburg County, North Carolina by Louise Barber Matthews

Survey and research report on Providence Presbyterian Church, 1976 July 6 by Dan L. Morrill

Providence Presbyterian Church (Charlotte, N.C.) records. 1839-1961

• Includes session record book, 1839-1860, with session minutes and register. Session record book, 1861-1892, with session minutes, register, and historical sketch. Session record book, 1892-1937, with session minutes, congregational minutes, and register. Session record book, 1937-1961, with session minutes, congregational minutes, register, and statistical record. Board of deacons record book, 1866-1882, with minutes and financial records. Record book of statistics and benevolent contributions, 1872-1881 (fragile). Miscellaneous materials, mostly ca. 1940s, including news clippings, obituaries of various members, photographs, memorial for James Newell Ross. Bound typescripts (2 vols., first carbon copies) titled "Records of Providence Church Mecklenburg County NC," compiled by Howard Dewep Hayward and containing a wide variety of information including: statement on bronze marker near cemetery, extracts from session minutes and registers, biographical information gleaned from ministerial directories, cemetery inscriptions, genealogy of old families, notes on women's organizations (1930-1953), excerpts from bulletins and newsletters (1951-1953). Both volumes contain detailed indexes. The second volume also contains information about neighboring churches and communities

Providence Presbyterian Church (Charlotte, N.C.) commemorative plate. 

• The collection consists of one commemorative plate for Providence Presbyterian Church (Charlotte, N.C.) with a brown illustration of the church, the congregation name and Mecklenburg County, and the dates 1767-1967. 

Providence Presbyterian Church (Charlotte, N.C.) newsletters. 1961-1962

Roger Martin papers. 1871-1895

• The collection contains the personal papers of Martin Rogers documenting his preaching from 1871 to 1895. Martin was the pastor at Providence Presbyterian Church (Charlotte, N.C.) and Banks Presbyterian Church (Waxham, N.C.) from 1888-1892.

Robert Zenas Johnston papers. 1853-1908

• The Private Journal of Robert Z. Johnston documents Johnston’s time as a student of Columbia Theological Seminary, 1858-1861, and his time as minister at Providence Presbyterian Church (Charlotte, N.C.) and Sharon Presbyterian Church (Charlotte, N.C.) from 1861-1871, and at First Presbyterian Church (Lincolnton, N.C.).