HIST 3600: Reconstruction, 1863-1877

Diaries, journals and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans and travelers to Appalachia.

Colonial to 1950 - includes the experiences of 632 women as revealed in diaries and letters.

Contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800's and includes first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, the humanities, world travel and religion.

Provides access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This collection includes historically significant papers and features many rare 19th-century titles.

Provides access to a collection of newspapers reporting on the African American experience in segregated southern America from 1870 to 1926. The collection contains editorial pieces that expose the racial discrimination and violence that many suffered through, and also includes light-hearted pieces that focused on other civil affairs, events, local gossip, and more throughout the local community.

Presents unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century

A collection of national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada

Newspaper includes obituaries, stocks and editorials.

A 19th century illustrated newspaper from 1857-1912. Includes news stories, illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature and advertisements.

Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during 19th and 20th centuries. Many of these newspapers were published bilingually in Spanish and English.

Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection includes digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.

19th Century African American newspapers, American County Histories to 1900, American Civil War Primary Sources, and more.

This two-part collection covers the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the seventeenth through the early twentieth centuries. Part 1 includes news reports and editorials covering 1728-1922, and Part 2 provides access to historical ebooks covering 1663-1928.

Major global newspaper including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, as well as photos and advertisements.

A collection of pamphlets from the Department of State Library from 1865-1869 and 1877. The pamphlets include speeches, debates, legislative bills, and more.

Legal history and government documents. Contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Reports, and entire databases of treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, international trade, foreign relations, and more.

Access congressional publications dealing with the wide variety of topics addressed by Congress.

Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, 1817-1962.