SOCY: My Side of the River Guide

• Hispanic Life in America, Series 3 (2010-Present) This link opens in a new window

  A comprehensive digital archive of primary source documents depicting the experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media, highlighting centuries of Hispanic history, culture, and daily life.
• Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States This link opens in a new window

  • 

  Draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Articles address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.
• Civil Rights and Social Justice (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window

  HeinOnline’s Civil Rights and Social Justice database brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing links to more than 500 scholarly articles, hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and more.
• SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window

  SIRS Issues Researcher provides background, current analysis, and opinions on current social issues.
• Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window

  Covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
• Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window

  A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.
• JSTOR This link opens in a new window

  Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.
• Project Muse This link opens in a new window

  Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

• Social Explorer This link opens in a new window

  • 

  Visualization and data-mapping tool with hundreds of thousands of data indicators and across demography, economy, health, education, religion, crime and more.
  Please Note: You will need to select Login at the top-right of the screen to gain access to this database.
• iPOLL Databank This link opens in a new window

  • 

  The most comprehensive, up-to-date resource for US public opinion poll data.
• Data.Census.Gov (Explore Census Data) This link opens in a new window

  • 
  • 

  Official data from the Census Bureau from 2000-current