Research Guides: Engineering Research Guide: Books Articles & Databases

General Databases for Engineering

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Compendex and Inspec databases. Search millions of records in physics, communications, information technology, operations research, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics, and all engineering disciplines.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Literature across all fields of science and social science. Comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science and social science. Provides access to more than 850 of Elsevier's primary research journals, which focus on scientific, medical, biomedical and technical areas.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed publications of the IEEE in the areas of computing sciences, electronics, and electrical engineering.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database includes a citation mapping feature that allows you to track research across time, including almost 1.7 billion cited references allowing for comprehensive searches.

Science.gov : Federal Government Science Portal
Science.gov searches over 50 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research an development results.
SciTech Connect:
Science Accelerator
NIST Publication Portal
This publications database includes many of the most recent publications of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).
US Government Info
Search federal government publications
DTIC - Defense Technical Information Center
The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC®) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information
U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)
EIA provides a wide range of information and data products covering energy production, stocks, demand, imports, exports, and prices; and prepares analyses and special reports on topics of current interest.
TRAIL Search
Search U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1975 and digitized by the TRAIL Working Groups.
DOE Data Explorer

Worldcat.org This link opens in a new window
WorldCat connects you to the collections and services of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide

MIT Press eBooks Library This link opens in a new window
More than 400 eBooks in fields including computer science, artificial intelligence, information theory, computer programming, information technology, and electrical engineering. Available via IEEE Xplore.
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science This link opens in a new window
A collection of brief eBooks on a range of engineering and computer science topics, designed to serve as entry points to new areas for researchers, advanced developers, and students.