Research Guides: Sociology Research Guide: Data & Statistics

Demographics/Statistics

Statista
Statista is an online portal providing data on the global digital economy, industrial sectors, consumer markets, public opinion, media, demography and macroeconomic trends.
SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps, tables, and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Create a personal account, if you want to save your work. Otherwise sign in as a Guest. Limited to 10 users at a time.
Social Explorer
Visualization and data-mapping tool with hundreds of thousands of data indicators and across demography, economy, health, education, religion, crime and more.
Please Note: You will need to select Login at the top-right of the screen to gain access to this database.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States (1970-present)
This database continues the Statistical Abstract published annually by the Census Bureau and contains data from 1970-present. In addition, it includes enhancements such as monthly updates of content and line-item access to tables.
Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
Data Axle helps users create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, raise funds and locate people. The database includes access to information about more than 20 million businesses, 222 million consumers, U.S. new businesses, and U.S. homeowners and movers.
iPOLL Databank
The most comprehensive, up-to-date resource for US public opinion poll data.

USAFacts.org
Our entire mission is to provide you with facts about the United States that are rooted in data. We believe once you have the solid, unbiased numbers behind the issues you can make up your own mind.
Data Commons
Google has organized and made easily accessible publicly available data. Google has organized the core of this data from a wide range of sources, ranging from governmental statistical organizations like census bureaus to organizations like the World Bank and the United Nations.

E-Commerce Database
Detailed information for 20,000 stores in 50 countries, including detailed revenue analytics, competitor analysis, market development, marketing budget, and interesting KPIs, such as traffic, shipping providers, payment options, social media activity and many more.
Please Note: When you open up this resource, select the three horizontal lines at the top right and click "University Access" to be authenticated.

Current and Historical Censuses

Data.Census.Gov (Explore Census Data)
Official data from the Census Bureau from 2000-current
Historical Statistics of the United States
Source for statistical facts of American history.

iPUMS Data
Contains harmonized data on people in the U.S. census, current population survey, and other datasets from 1790 to the present.
Digitized Copies of Historical Censuses (by decade)
Digitized paper copies of Census from 1790-2010. Another version of this is located here: https://usa.ipums.org/usa/voliii/tPublished.shtml
Census Public Use Microdata Sample Table Creator
An alternative new way to create custom tables with PUMS.
NHGIS
(Univ. of Minnesota) Provides aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000.

HeritageQuest
Includes family, local history and genealogy records, complete U.S. Census from 1790-1940, Revolutionary War records, and Freedman’s Bank records relating to free slaves.
Neighborhood Change Database (1970-2020)
1970-2020 Tract level Census data from GeoLytics. The data for years 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000 and 2010 are recalculated and normalized, and the report uses the 2020 tract ID (FIPS code). This allows you to compare data for various years within the exact same boundary definitions. Limit one user at a time.

CDC Bridged-Race Population Estimates 1990-present
The National Center for Health Statistics releases bridged-race population estimates of the July 1st resident population of the United States, for use in calculating vital rates. These estimates result from "bridging" the 31 race categories used in Census 2000.
Diversity and Disparities
Find census data for your metropolitan region and see time trends over several decades. Create maps of census data for counties and neighborhoods anywhere in the U.S. and as far back as 1940.

North Carolina Statistics

Charlotte Neighborhood Quality of Life Study
Designed to help assess the health of neighborhoods in Charlotte and Mecklenburg County.
LINC (Log Into North Carolina)
The most valuable Web resource for NC statistical data. Includes over 1300 data items from state and federal agencies. Statistical topic areas include population, housing, vital statistics, criminal justice, economics, and transportation.
Charlotte Regional Indicators
Major public source for the information needed to inform positive change affecting quality of life issues within the 14-county Charlotte region (UNC Charlotte Urban Institute)
Charlotte Regional Data Trust (formerly the Institute for Social Capital)
POLARIS
Property ownership and land records information system (GIS records for Mecklenburg County, NC)
GeoPortal (Mecklenburg County)
Charlotte Chamber of Commerce GIS with property and business searches for the county. Can be used for economic development planning.
State Library of NC Data Resources
Data resources guide - Statistics by Subject
NC D4 (Demand Driven Data Delivery)
North Carolina's Official Labor Market Data Source
The most current and historical labor market information available. View, share, and download statewide, local, and regional data.
Office of State Budget and Management (North Carolina): Facts and Figures
Population, Census, Economic, and Social Statistics for North Carolina
South Carolina State Data Center
Contains economic, demographic, and social data produced by a variety of state and federal agencies.

Subject Specific Data

Education

National Center for Education Statistics Data Tools
Contains build your own tables and other tools for customized statistics.
Census Educational Topics
Attainment, Enrollment, and Financial Data

Labor/Employment

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.

Transportation

Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Data on airports, traffic congestion, freight, passenger travel, connectivity, etc.
Federal Aviation Administration
Information on aviation, airports, passengers, flights, etc.

Childstats.gov Tables
Forum on Child and Family Statistics
Homelessness Data
Annual Homeless Assessment Report (AHAR) is a HUD report to the U.S. Congress that provides nationwide estimates of homelessness, including information about the demographic characteristics of homeless persons, service use patterns, and the capacity to house homeless persons.
Correlates of State Policy
The Correlates of State Policy Project includes more than seven-hundred variables, with observations across the U.S. 50 states and time (1900 – 2016). These variables represent policy outputs or political, social, or economic factors that may influence policy differences across the states. The codebook includes the variable name, a short description of the variable, the variable time frame, a longer description of the variable, and the variable source(s) and notes.
K-12 School Shootings Database
Shooting Incidents charts are based on publicly available data on incidents from 1970-present.

Subject Specific Data (cont.)

Health

CDC - National Center for Health Statistics is the agency of the federal government responsible for reporting health statistics. It compiles “statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people.” (See Also CDC Data and Statistics by topic, Data Finder - Health, FASTSTATS)
HRSA Data Warehouse serves as the enterprise repository of the Health Resources and Services Administration.
CMS (Centers for Medicaid/Medicare Services)
Use the Data Navigator to find data and information products for specific CMS programs, such as Medicare and Medicaid, or on specific health care topics or settings-of-care
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.

Tutorial on Finding and Using Healthcare Statistics

Healthdata.gov contains high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
Health and Human Services Department's A-Z List

Justice/Crime/Political Science

Bureau of Justice Statistics - Data Analysis Tools
Arrests, Prisoner Data, Criminal Case data, etc.
Bureau of Justice Statistics - Data Collections
Law Enforcement, Crime type, Courts/Corrections, Victims
FBI - Crime Statistics
Most comprehensive analysis of violent crime and property crime in the nation. Includes arrest, clearance, and law enforcement employee data
Crime Data Explorer (FBI)
Courts Data
Statistical data on the business of the federal Judiciary
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
brings together data from more than 100 published and unpublished sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States.

Nonprofit and Volunteer Resources

Nonprofit Resources
List by Charlotte Mecklenburg Public Library (Bigger List compiled here)
Nonprofit Explorer
view summaries of 3 million tax returns from tax-exempt organizations
Urban Institute - Nonprofits and Philanthropy (Research Area)
National Center for Charitable Statistics

Statista
Statista is an online portal providing data on the global digital economy, industrial sectors, consumer markets, public opinion, media, demography and macroeconomic trends.