Research Guides: Urban Design: Welcome

Databases: Getting Started

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index to journals for architecture and related topics.
Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage for periodicals and books in art and architecture. Specifically covers fine, decorative and commercial art, plus architecture and architectural design.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps, tables, and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Create a personal account, if you want to save your work. Otherwise sign in as a Guest. Limited to 10 users at a time.
Data.Census.Gov (Explore Census Data) This link opens in a new window
Official data from the Census Bureau from 2000-current

U.S. Census Maps and Data
Find geographic data and products such as the TIGER/Line Shapefiles, KMLs, TIGERweb, cartographic boundary files, geographic relationship files, and reference and thematic maps.

Sanborn Maps (Digital)(1867-1970) for North Carolina This link opens in a new window
Sanborn Maps are large scale plans of a city or a town, drawn to a scale of 50 feet to an inch. These historical maps from 1867–1970 list street blocks and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage in agriculture, ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution and waste management, public policy, social impacts, urban planning and more.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Brings together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Campus Locations

Hight Architecture Library

The Charles C. Hight Architecture Library is located in Storrs Hall, second floor. It holds all books and journals that start with the architecture call number (NA), as well as a selection of related items in other call numbers. There are also computers available to access library resources.

Click here for daily Hours

View of Hight Architecture Library

Center City

Charlotte Center City 2020 Vision Plan

Modeling example

Urban Design

Arts and Architecture Librarian

Chat with Us!

Databases: Getting Started

Campus Locations