Research Guides: Urban Design: Find Articles

Relevant Databases

This is where you find articles. Atkins Library subscribes to over 300 databases and indices. Many of these are full text but not all. If an article is available in a full text format there will be a "PDF" or "HTML" link within the record.

If you do not see full text available, click the icon within the record for additional information.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.
Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage for periodicals and books in art and architecture. Specifically covers fine, decorative and commercial art, plus architecture and architectural design.
Arts and Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Index to journals for architecture and related topics.
Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Includes indexes and full-text of doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources. PAIS Archive is included in this database and includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Brings together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Related Databases

Agricultural and Environmental Science This link opens in a new window
The database provides a unique solution for agricultural and environmental research also including: agricultural economics; animal and veterinary sciences; aquaculture and fisheries; farming and farming systems; food and human nutrition; forestry; and plant sciences.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage in agriculture, ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution and waste management, public policy, social impacts, urban planning and more.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
The GeoRef database, produced by the American Geosciences Institute, is focused on comprehensive coverage of geoscience literature published worldwide. The content is indexed with geoscience terms from the GeoRef Thesaurus, and geolocation data (latitude/longitude) is also assigned, when applicable. GeoRef is the most in-depth A&I database available for geoscience literature and research. It helps researchers to address some of the most urgent environmental concerns.

Municode
Free access to municipal codes, including Charlotte.

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles and other sources on the history of the US and Canada. See Historical Abstracts for world history.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles and other sources on the history of the world (excluding U.S and Canada).
TRID This link opens in a new window
TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.
TRID is a newly integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database includes a citation mapping feature that allows you to track research across time, including almost 1.7 billion cited references allowing for comprehensive searches.

Searching for Articles

Latest Articles

Journal of Planning Literature

Journal of the American Planning Association

Journal of the American Institute of Planners

Journal of Urban Design