Research Guides: Statistical Data Resources: U.S. Statistics by Subject

Subject Specific Data

National Center for Education Statistics Data Tools
Contains build your own tables and other tools for customized statistics.
Census Educational Topics
Attainment, Enrollment, and Financial Data

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.

Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Data on airports, traffic congestion, freight, passenger travel, connectivity, etc.
Federal Aviation Administration
Information on aviation, airports, passengers, flights, etc.

Childstats.gov Tables
Forum on Child and Family Statistics
Homelessness Data
Annual Homeless Assessment Report (AHAR) is a HUD report to the U.S. Congress that provides nationwide estimates of homelessness, including information about the demographic characteristics of homeless persons, service use patterns, and the capacity to house homeless persons.
Correlates of State Policy
The Correlates of State Policy Project includes more than seven-hundred variables, with observations across the U.S. 50 states and time (1900 – 2016). These variables represent policy outputs or political, social, or economic factors that may influence policy differences across the states. The codebook includes the variable name, a short description of the variable, the variable time frame, a longer description of the variable, and the variable source(s) and notes.
K-12 School Shootings Database
Shooting Incidents charts are based on publicly available data on incidents from 1970-present.

CDC - National Center for Health Statistics is the agency of the federal government responsible for reporting health statistics. It compiles “statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people.” (See Also CDC Data and Statistics by topic, Data Finder - Health, FASTSTATS)
HRSA Data Warehouse serves as the enterprise repository of the Health Resources and Services Administration.
CMS (Centers for Medicaid/Medicare Services)
Use the Data Navigator to find data and information products for specific CMS programs, such as Medicare and Medicaid, or on specific health care topics or settings-of-care
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.

Healthdata.gov contains high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
Health and Human Services Department's A-Z List

Bureau of Justice Statistics - Data Analysis Tools
Arrests, Prisoner Data, Criminal Case data, etc.
Bureau of Justice Statistics - Data Collections
Law Enforcement, Crime type, Courts/Corrections, Victims
FBI - Crime Statistics
Most comprehensive analysis of violent crime and property crime in the nation. Includes arrest, clearance, and law enforcement employee data
Crime Data Explorer (FBI)
Courts Data
Statistical data on the business of the federal Judiciary
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
brings together data from more than 100 published and unpublished sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States.

Nonprofit Resources
List by Charlotte Mecklenburg Public Library (Bigger List compiled here)
Nonprofit Explorer
view summaries of 3 million tax returns from tax-exempt organizations
Urban Institute - Nonprofits and Philanthropy (Research Area)
National Center for Charitable Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is an online portal providing data on the global digital economy, industrial sectors, consumer markets, public opinion, media, demography and macroeconomic trends.

WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) This link opens in a new window
This database is available through the Belk Business school only.
WRDS is a web-based business data research service from The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania. Access financial, accounting, banking, economics, marketing, and public policy databases. Strengths include deep archives of historical data, a common web interface for access to all WRDS databases, and a variety of output file formats.

The Census Bureau's Economic Census
Bureau of Economic Analysis Interactive Data
Includes GDP, personal income, industry, and international transaction data.
FRED Economic Data
Download, graph, and track 508,000 US and International Time Series from multiple sources.
Census Business Builder
suite of services that provides selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format.

E-Commerce Database This link opens in a new window
Detailed information for 20,000 stores in 50 countries, including detailed revenue analytics, competitor analysis, market development, marketing budget, and interesting KPIs, such as traffic, shipping providers, payment options, social media activity and many more.
Please Note: When you open up this resource, select the three horizontal lines at the top right and click "University Access" to be authenticated.