Research Guides: Theater Research Guide: Finding Articles

Databases by Subject

Literature

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive search of Gale's all literature archive resources, including Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Literature Criticism Online, and Something About the Author Online.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographical, critical and bibliographical information on authors.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly research pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

Arts & Humanities

Arts and Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

Interdisciplinary

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Brings together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Newspapers

Newspapers are a great way to find reviews of performances & scripts.

New York Times - Theater
The theater section of the New York Times.

NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper articles covering international, national, and local news. Includes the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Charlotte Observer, and many others.
New York Times (Online Edition) This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of The New York Times online content from 1996-present, including blogs and podcasts.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Source for legal research, business, news, etc. Search across global news sources, access federal and state legal cases, find company information, and more
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Full text of The Washington Post newspaper from Dec 4, 1996 - present
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper archive with full-text coverage of the Times from 1785 to 2013. Supports research across multiple disciplines including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy with coverage of all major international historical events.

Historical Newspapers

African American Newspapers Series 1: 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This collection includes historically significant papers and features many rare 19th-century titles.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable American newspaper collections, including African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; South Carolina's Historical Newspapers; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and selected historical newspapers.
Charlotte Observer Historical Archive, 1886-2018 (via Readex) This link opens in a new window
Includes obituaries, stocks, editorials and first-hand accounts of events.
Gale NewsVault This link opens in a new window
Platform for cross-searching a range of historical UK newspaper and periodical collections, including 19th century British Library Newspapers (Parts I and II); 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series 1; Times Digital Archive (1785-2006); and, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (1902-2007)
Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
Newspapers.com North Carolina Collection includes digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.
New York Times Historical Archives (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window
Major global newspaper including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, as well as photos and advertisements.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper archive with full-text coverage of the Times from 1785 to 2013. Supports research across multiple disciplines including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy with coverage of all major international historical events.

Highlighted Journals

Drama Review
TDR emphasizes experimental, avant-garde, intercultural, and interdisciplinary performance—studying performances in their aesthetic, social, economic, and political contexts. It covers performance art, theatre, dance, music, visual art, popular entertainments, media, sports, rituals, and the performance in and of politics and everyday life.
Modern Drama
This refereed journal provides close readings of both canonical and lesser known dramatic texts through a range of methodological perspectives. The journal enhances our understanding of plays in both formal and historical terms, largely treating literature of the past two centuries from diverse geo-political contexts, as well as an extensive book review section.
New Theatre Quarterly
Peer-reviewed academic journal covering theatre studies. Published by Cambridge University Press. The journal publishes news, analysis and debate within the field of theatre studies.
Theatre Journal
Theatre Journal features social and historical studies, production reviews, and theoretical inquiries that analyze dramatic texts and production.
more...less...
Official publication of the Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE).