Research Guides: Physics and Optical Science Research Guide: Find Articles

Databases and Indices

Atkins Library subscribes to over 300 databases and indices. Many of these are full text but not all. If an article is available in a full text format there will be a "PDF" or "HTML" link within the record.

If an article is not available full text through one database, we may be able to obtain it from another database or the library may have a print subscription. If this is so, there will be a green icon within the record. Clicking here will take you to a page with additional information. It may offer a link to another database or to the Atkins Library catalog.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary loan is a form of resource sharing among libraries nation- and world-wide. When a book or other item needed by a UNC Charlotte user is checked out, unavailable for some other reason, or not owned by the library, a patron may request that it be borrowed from another library by submitting an interlibrary loan request.

Interlibrary Loan

Physics and Optical Science

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database includes a citation mapping feature that allows you to track research across time, including almost 1.7 billion cited references allowing for comprehensive searches.
IOPscience This link opens in a new window
A database of the publications of the Institute of Physics.
Atkins Library has full text access to IOP's "Journal Package Z" (1997+ to the present) and its "Historic Archive" (1974-1996).
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 230,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new research papers are added annually.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive bibliographic database of technology and engineering research literature, containing citations and abstracts of articles and technical reports from over 5000 engineering journals and conferences.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Literature across all fields of science and social science. Comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science and social science. Provides access to more than 850 of Elsevier's primary research journals, which focus on scientific, medical, biomedical and technical areas.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and book series in the sciences including: chemical sciences, computer science, engineering, environmental sciences, geosciences, life sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics from the publisher, Springer-Verlag.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Journals in the physical/life sciences and in the social sciences.
Optics InfoBase This link opens in a new window
Optics InfoBase is the Optical Society of America online library for OSA flagship journals. It contains recent proceedings from OSA conferences.
AIP Publishing Digital (Scitation) This link opens in a new window
Journals published by 18 professional societies in physics and engineering. You must register to search this database.
This database includes literature published by 18 professional societies including the American Institute of Physics, Laser Institute of America, International Society for Optical Engineering, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and American Society for Civil Engineers. We have full text access to only those journals for which we hold a subscription. Full abstracts are available for the entire database. Date coverage varies with the originating society and journal.

Arxiv.org
e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.