AMUSEMENT PARK PHYSICS
http://www.learner.org/exhibits/parkphysics/
Provides user-friendly, simple explanations for the physics that make amusement park rides possible.
ASTROWEB: ASTRONOMY/ASTROPHYICS ON THE INTERNET
http://www.cv.nrao.edu/fits/www/astronomy.html
Offers links to research materials from observatories, to people, publications, and organizations in the field, and to information on topics such as radio, planetary, and solar astronomy.
EINSTEIN, ALBERT – 1879-1955
http://www.aip.org/history/einstein/
The American Institute of Physics at Princeton maintains this site and provides more than 100 pages on Einstein’s life and work. Also provides links to other Web sources on him.
EMILIO SERGE VISUAL ARCHIVE
http://www.aip.org/history/esva/
A searchable database which focuses on American physicists and astronomers of the twentieth century. It also includes many scientists in Europe and around the world, fields related to physics, and earlier time periods.
ENERGY CITATIONS DATABASE
http://www.osti.gov/energycitations
Provides abstracts and, in some cases, links to full text of research publications in fields such as chemistry, physics, materials science, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, and related disciplines. This database covers publications from 1948 to the present and is made available by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information at the U.S. Dept. of Energy.
FUNDAMENTAL PHYSICAL CONSTANTS
http://www.chemie.fu-berlin.de/chemistry/general/constants_en.html
Lists formulas for 36 physical constants including: Planck Constant, Speed of Light, Avogadro Number, and Bohr Radius. There are also links to other helpful sites, including the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) searchable "Reference on Constants, Units, and Uncertainty." (From the Freie Universitat Berlin, Chemistry Dept.)
GALILEO GALILEI – 1564-1642 – NOTES ON MOTION
http://www.mpiwg-berlin.mpg.de/Galileo_Prototype/
This electronic publication contains Galileo’s notes, calculations, drawings, and drafts related to his theorems and problems on motion and mechanics covering more than forty years and eventually covered in his final work on mechanics, the "Discorsi" of 1638.
NASA ASTROPHYSICS DATA SYSTEM
http://adswww.harvard.edu
A database of nearly 4 million abstracts of publications from journals, colloquia, symposia, proceedings, and internal NASA reports from 1993 to the present. The database covers astronomy and astrophysics, instrumentation, physics, and geophysics and includes preprints in astronomy. It is made available by the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics.
NATIONAL AERONAUTICS AND SPACE ADMINISTRATION (NASA)
http://www.nasa.gov
Offers information for scientists and the public including many visual resources and information about space missions.
PHYSLINK
http://www.physlink.com
A commercial site rich in news and general information. It contains links to reference sites and materials for physics teachers and students. Physlink’s Home Page provides listings of physics jobs, science software, physics departments; physical societies, scientific journals, images of physicists, physics news, high tech companies, and much more.
PHYSICS 2000
http://www.Colorado.EDU/physics/2000/
The Chemistry and Physics Department at the University of Colorado at Boulder provides an informative introduction to various aspects of physics using java applets which allow learning through interaction.
PHYSICS REFERENCE DATA
http://physics.nist.gov/PhysRefData/contents.html
Includes physical constants, atomic and molecular spectroscopy data, X-ray and gamma-ray data, and nuclear physics data. From the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
PHYSICS WORLD
http://physicsworld.com/cws/home
News from the world of physics sponsored by the Institute of Physics.
THOMSON, JOSEPH JOHN – 1856-1940
http://www.aip.org/history/electron/
The American Institute of Physics at Princeton provides –"The Discovery of the Electron" an easily understandable history of Thomson’s work. It includes descriptions of his experiments from 1897- that explored theories on the electron. It also provides related links, a bibliography of suggested readings, and a short biography.
WALK THROUGH TIME
http://physics.nist.gov/GenInt/Time/time.html
The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Physics Laboratory presents a historic view of the evolution of time measurement. The series begins with ancient calendars and ends with the atomic age. It includes information on sun clocks, water clocks, mechanical clocks, quartz clocks, and atomic beam clocks. This site also has information on Greenwich Mean Time and world time zones.
WOMEN IN PHYSICS
http://www.physics.ucla.edu/~cwp/
From UCLA, this browsable and searchable Web site contains information on more than fifty women who made important contributions in physics from 1900-1975.
WORLD WIDE WEB INDEX – PHYSICS
http://www.het.brown.edu/physics/index.html
This site provides links to job and conference announcements; high energy physics labs around the world; home pages of individual high energy physics experiments; condensed matter physics labs around the world; astronomy resources; physics news; etc.
WORLD WIDE WEB VIRTUAL LIBRARY – PHYSICS
http://web.bilkent.edu.tr/vl/LibraryOfCongress/phyg.html
Provides physics information categorised by subject. For example it provides "Virtual Library Specialized Fields for astrophysics; beam physics and accelerator technology; energy; geophysics; high energy physics; horology; nuclear physics; plasma science and technology. It also provides specialized connections to space science; complex systems; condensed matter physics; lattice field theory; and the Low Temperature Laboratory at Helsinki Univ. of Technology in Finland.
YAHOO: A GUIDE TO THE WWW – PHYSICS
http://yahoo.com/Science/Physics
