Research Guides: Political Science Databases: Legislation, Judicial, Regulations, Reports

Legislation, Judicial, Regulations

Congress.gov (formerly Thomas)
Public laws and bills, Congressional Record, Reports, Roll Call. Free or open source.
govinfo (formerly FDsys)
Provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Legal history and government documents. Contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Reports, and entire databases of treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, international trade, foreign relations, and more.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Source for legal research, business, news, etc. Search across global news sources, access federal and state legal cases, find company information, and more

North Carolina General Assembly
General statutes, session laws, legislative publications.
more...less...
Information available includes North Carolina State Statutes, Legislative calendar, North Carolina Senate, North Carolina House of Representatives, Legislative bills, North Carolina Administrative Code.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Congressional information, including bills, laws, regulations, reports, documents, prints, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, and the Congressional Record. Also includes information about members of Congress such as biographical data, voting records, campaign financial data and committees. Also includes legislative histories, bills and laws as well as regulations.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, 1817-1962.

Congress and the Nation (1945-Present) This link opens in a new window
Coverage of Congressional action from 1945 to present.
CQ Press Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Government and political resources from CQ Press. Includes Congress and the Nation; Historic Documents Series; Political Handbook of the World; Politics in America; Supreme Court Yearbook; Vital Statistics on American Politics; Washington Information Directory.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Reports on social issues, public policy analysis, and political topics. Includes background information, chronologies, current analysis of the situation, tables and maps, and pro and con statements made by individuals with differing viewpoints. Dates back to 1991 for full-text articles.
Politics in America (2000-2018) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, nonpartisan commentary and data about members of Congress.