Bioinformatics Research Guide

Genomic, Genetic and Breeding Resources for Cotton Research Discovery and Crop Improvement

The Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics (SIB) Bioinformatics Resource Portal which provides access to scientific databases and software tools.

Gramene is a curated, open-source, integrated data resource for comparative functional genomics in crops and model plant species.

The Human Metabolome Database (HMDB) is a freely available electronic database containing detailed information about small molecule metabolites found in the human body. It is intended to be used for applications in metabolomics, clinical chemistry, biomarker discovery and general education.

resources for conducting genome and metagenome studies

MaizeGDB is a community-oriented, long-term, federally funded informatics service to researchers focused on the crop plant and model organism Zea mays.

The NCI Development Therapeutics Program (DTP) provides services and resources to the academic and private-sector research communities worldwide to facilitate the discovery and development of new cancer therapeutic agents

A collection of public databases for research in computational biology, genome data, and biomedical information.

NCBI provides several genomic biology tools and resources, including organism-specific pages that include links to many web sites and databases relevant to that species.

A list of tools from the University of Pittsburgh Health Sciences Library.

The U.S. National Plant Germplasm System (NPGS) is collaborative effort to safeguard the genetic diversity of agriculturally important plants.

A Massachusetts-based organization that develops and maintains computational resources emphasizing open access to research materials.

An online discussion forum about bioinformatics-related problems.

An open-access, open-source resource for interactive exploration of large-scale multidimensional cancer genomics data sets.

A whitelist of Open Access peer-reviewed journals that the service deems to be of high quality.

An NIH National Cancer Institute unified data repository that enables data sharing across cancer genomic studies in support of precision medicine with full-download and access to all data generated by TCGA and TARGET.

Iintegrative web platform for analysis of LINCS data and LINCS L1000 signatures.

Wikipedia list with links to articles

Software and services links on the Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics Dept of Computational Molecular Biology website

Provides indexing and access to a collection of more than two million historical and current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service. Over 500,000 documents are available in full-text format.

Open-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections.

PLOS (Public Library of Science) is a nonprofit publisher and advocacy organization founded to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
Full text of open access peer-reviewed life sciences journals.
Free or open source.

The Resource Identification Portal supports guidelines for rigor and transparency in biomedical publications as a database for new and existing Research Resource Identifiers (RRID) of key biological resources: Antibodies, Model Organisms, and Tools (software, databases, services).

A free search engine to identify the most important and influential scientific journal articles.