HIST 2600: The New South, 1865-1929

Rare E668 D26 1924

Rare F264 C4 C519953 1927

Rare HE2791 S727 H36 1916

Rare CT275 H386 A2 1914

Rare E668 R76 1980z

Rare HD8039 T42 U658 1929

Material and family papers collected by Judge Francis Osborne Clarkson. Includes 94 pamphlets collected by Clarkson and his father, Judge Heriot Clarkson, reflecting their interests in the history and politics of Charlotte and North Carolina, patriotic societies, and alcoholism and prohibition.

The Jetton Family Papers is documentation of one of the early families in Mecklenburg County and their in-laws. The contents of this collection reveal the life activities of this family, correspondence, correspondence, receipts for consumer goods, promissory notes for borrowing money, tax receipts, papers relevant to slavery, the American Civil War and Reconstruction, documentation pertinent to land-ownership (land surveys, deeds, land grants and indentures).

Papers relating to the family of Walter J. F. and Anna Brubaker Liddell, who moved to Charlotte from Wisconsin in 1875. Includes photographs, postcards depicting scenes in Charlotte and both Carolinas in the early 20th century, and photocopies of letters (1854-64) between members of the related Little and Myers families. Contains no records of the Liddell Machine Co. and other family businesses.

Diaries of a worker in Charlotte’s Louise Cotton Mill. Topics mentioned include textile mills, religion, the weather, activities of family and friends, and public events from local to the international.

This collection contains papers and photographs generated by the McCoy and related families in Mecklenburg County from 1796 to 2001. Most of the papers were produced by Albert McCoy (1843-1925). Some of the files in this collection concern a slave cemetery.

Records (mostly minute books and books of stock certificates) of the Textile Mill Supply Company, the Industrial and Hardware Supply Company, and the Industrial and Textile Supply Company, of Charlotte, NC from 1898 to 1997. The collection also includes records of the TMS Realty Company, whose purpose was to administer the land holdings of its parent company.

Photographs of an unidentified Confederate soldier (ca. 1861-1865) and child laborers in a North Carolina cotton mill (ca. 1910).

Papers of Hugh Torance (1743-1816) and his descendants, including especially his son, James Galbraith Torrance (sic) (1784-1847), and his grandson Richard Allison Torrance (1833-1927), concerning their extensive mercantile, planting, and milling operations at Cedar Grove plantation in northern Mecklenburg County. Includes account books, Revolutionary War service records, family correspondence, land and estate records, information on slaves, contracts with overseers, and two acrostics by George Moses Horton ("the slave poet of Chapel Hill").

Materials created and collected by James Harrison Arthur (1901-78), his wife Katherine Miller Arthur (1914-74), and his uncle Benjamin Franklin Arthur Jr. (1863-1944). Consists primarily of correspondence and subject files of James and Katherine, residents of Gaston County, N.C. Also includes daily expense records (1926-73); business correspondence (1925-74) related to James's work as a textile mill accountant in North Carolina and South Carolina; papers (1877-1901) of Dr. James Park McComb relating primarily to his gold mining activities in Charlotte; and photographs of and genealogical material about the Arthur, Rice, and Herndon families of South Carolina and the Wilson, McComb, and King families of Mecklenburg County, N.C. B. F. Arthur's papers include material relating to the history of South Carolina, particularly Union County. A significant segment consists of personal and business correspondence, plantation account books, and other financial records of his father-in-law, John Clough Farrar (1817-99), wholesale grocer and cotton broker in antebellum Charleston and planter in Union County during and after the Civil War.