Research Guides: POLS 3030/LTAM 3003: Politics of Latin American Immigration to U.S.: Find Articles

Databases and Indices

Atkins Library subscribes to over 300 databases and indices. Many of these are full text but not all. If an article is available in a full text format there will be a "PDF" or "HTML" link within the record.

If an article is not available full text through one database, we may be able to obtain it from another database or the library may have a print subscription. If this is so, there will be a green icon within the record. Clicking here will take you to a page with additional information. It may offer a link to another database or to the Atkins Library catalog.

Search Tips

Academic Search Complete
Limit Search Results to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Articles"

JSTOR
Use Advanced Search to limit to "Articles Only"

Academic Journals

Articles MUST come from one of the following academic journals. You must get prior approval to use a different peer-reviewed journal. Use the electronic resources listed below to search for articles in these publications.

International Migration (ASC)
International Migration Review (JSTOR and Wiley)
Latin American Research Review (JSTOR and ASC)
Journal of Latin American Studies (JSTOR and Cambridge)
Bulletin of Latin American Research (JSTOR and Wiley)
Latin American Politics and Society (formerly Journal of Interamerican Studies and World Affairs) (ASC and Wiley)
Latin American Perspectives (SAGE)
The Latin Americanist (ASC and Wiley)
American Political Science Review (ASC and JSTOR)
Perspectives on Politics (JSTOR and Cambridge)
American Journal of Political Science (ASC)
Political Science Quarterly (ASC and IngentaConnect)
Journal of Politics (ASC)
Comparative Politics (JSTOR)
Comparative Political Studies (SAGE)
International Studies Quarterly (ASC and JSTOR)

Databases

Academic Search Complete
A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.
JSTOR
Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.
Wiley Online Library
Journals in the physical/life sciences and in the social sciences.
Cambridge Journals Online
Online access to over 190 Cambridge University Press journals available across 25 disciplines from 1998 forward for most titles.
Sage Journals Online
Database of journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, and technology.

Additional Databases

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science, international relations, law, public administration, and public policy.
PAIS Index
This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources. PAIS Archive is included in this database and includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
Business Source Complete
Contains full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, and finance.
Sociological Abstracts
Covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
PsycINFO
Provides peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health and is produced by the American Psychological Association.
Web of Science
This multidisciplinary database includes a citation mapping feature that allows you to track research across time, including almost 1.7 billion cited references allowing for comprehensive searches.

Search Shortcuts!

Many of the approved journals are searchable in Academic Search Complete (ASC). Learn how to limit your search results to articles in these journals.

WATCH VIDEO [2:57]