Skip to Main Content

HIST 2297: History of North Carolina, 1500-Present

This course explores the history of North Carolina from roughly 1500 through the present era. North Carolina's hisorical development is emphasized through three major themes: the social, political, and economic changes that have shaped the state

How-To Video: Searching for Secondary Sources

Searching for Secondary Sources
This module will familiarize you with the abstract databases that will help you find scholarly articles for your History papers

NCpedia

NCpedia
Reference sources related to North Carolina history. Use to gather background information about your topics. Bibliographies may help identify sources to use in your papers (primary and secondary).

Article Databases

America: History and Life

References to journal articles and other sources on the history of the US and Canada. See Historical Abstracts for world history.
JSTOR
Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.
Project Muse
Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses @ University of North Carolina Charlotte
This database provides access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
Dissertations and Theses Global
Includes indexes and full-text of doctoral dissertations and master's theses.