HIST 2600: Cold War Culture in the US and Europe

Provides access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This collection includes historically significant papers and features many rare 19th-century titles.

Charlotte Observer online from 1886 to the present.

A leading African-American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside of Chicago.

An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers and magazines produced by feminists, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, and the extreme right-wing press.

This leading Black newspaper of the 20th century reached its peak in the 1940s. It was a strong advocate for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance.

Major global newspaper including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, as well as photos and advertisements.

Historical newspaper archive with full-text coverage of the Times from 1785 to 2013. Supports research across multiple disciplines including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy with coverage of all major international historical events.

Index for general-interest, news, and opinion magazines published primarily in the United States.

Full-text newspaper articles covering international, national, and local news. Includes the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Charlotte Observer, and many others.

Source for legal research, business, news, etc. Search across global news sources, access federal and state legal cases, find company information, and more

Legal history and government documents. Contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Reports, and entire databases of treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, international trade, foreign relations, and more.

Provides complete coverage of the Cabinet minutes and memoranda of Prime Minister Harold Macmillan's government c. 1957-1963.

Explores the Anglo-American relations and politics during the Nixon administration, using discussions and briefing papers from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO). Material also covers social conditions, domestic reforms, trade, culture and the environment of the time c. 1969-1974.

Letters, memoranda, cables, and directives - written or dictated by Eisenhower from the years prior to World War II through full term of his presidency.

Access congressional publications dealing with the wide variety of topics addressed by Congress.

Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, 1817-1962.

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories.

This four-part collection features personal papers, federal records and a variety of other resources from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history.

The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. This collection offers “suggested searches” to guide students to pertinent topics from social justice, politics, arts, literature, key people, etc.

This collection features non-fiction writings by major American black leaders, covering 250 years of history through both familiar works and previously inaccessible material that present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.

Explores the history and growth of tourism through guidebooks, brochures, photos, and personal travel journals for the average traveler from c. 1850- the 1980s.

Provides insight into the American consumer boom of the mid 20th century through complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter c. 1935-1965.

Explore the social history of the modern era through original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organization.

This collection documents the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the triumphs of the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and beyond.

Explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. Resources include photographs, memorabilia, rare printed materials and manuscripts.

Annual reports from 1844 onward representing over 800 leading North American companies.

Explores travel accounts by women using diaries, correspondence, drawings, guidebooks, and postcards. Sources cover a variety of topics including customs, exploration, the British Empire, family life, diplomacy and more. Primary sources range from 1818- the 1970s.