Research Guides: Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC) Application Resources: Databases

Database Selection

The UNC Charlotte J. Murrey Atkins Library subscribes to a number of online databases which index and abstract most of the journal literature in the biomedical and life sciences. These online resources make keyword and subject searching relatively easy. Selecting the most appropriate database(s) to search and the most effective terminology is not always an easy task. Depending on the subject, searching several databases for alternatives is considered adequate by the IACUC.

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Aquatic science, aquatic organisms, fisheries and oceanography resources including related legal and socioeconomic issues. ProQuest Deep Indexing: Aquatic Sciences supplements ASFA with access to over a million indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature.
ERIC Database (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health and is produced by the American Psychological Association.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Contains millions of citations for biomedical and health literature from MEDLINE and other sources. To access full text from Atkins Library's journal collections in addition to full-text content from PubMed Central and open access publications, use the links provided on Atkins Library web pages.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database includes a citation mapping feature that allows you to track research across time, including almost 1.7 billion cited references allowing for comprehensive searches.
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database offering abstracts and citations to research in biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and aspects of agriculture and veterinary science monitoring literature including conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs, patents, and other materials.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive bibliographic database of technology and engineering research literature, containing citations and abstracts of articles and technical reports from over 5000 engineering journals and conferences.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed publications of the IEEE in the areas of computing sciences, electronics, and electrical engineering.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Literature across all fields of science and social science. Comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science and social science. Provides access to more than 850 of Elsevier's primary research journals, which focus on scientific, medical, biomedical and technical areas.

Databases not listed in Atkins Database List

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access)
An extensive database, produced by the National Agricultural Library, covering agriculture and life sciences resources. Free or open source citations.
@LT WEB
Altweb, the Alternatives to Animal Testing Web Site, was created to serve as a gateway to alternatives news, information, and resources on the Internet and beyond. Altweb now is the U.S. home of the journal ALTEX: Alternatives to Animal Experimentation.
AltBib
Resources on Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing.
The intent of this bibliography is to assist in identifying methods and procedures helpful in supporting the development, testing, application, and validation of alternatives to the use of vertebrates in biomedical research and toxicology testing.
PubAg
A portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research, PubAg covers all of the core topics of the agricultural sciences including nutrition, food safety, food quality, animal and crop production and protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, agricultural economic and policy issues, agricultural imports and exports, agricultural statistics, extramural research, and extension education.

The difference between PubMed and MEDLINE

The MEDLINE® database is directly searchable from NLM as a subset of the PubMed® database service.

NLM PDF on the differences between PubMed® and MEDLINE®