HIST 3011: The American South in Film

Database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing.

Major global newspaper including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, as well as photos and advertisements.

Index for general-interest, news, and opinion magazines published primarily in the United States.

References to journal articles and other sources on the history of the US and Canada. See Historical Abstracts for world history.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.

Provides access to scholarly research pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

Scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

A leading African-American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside of Chicago.

This leading Black newspaper of the 20th century reached its peak in the 1940s. It was a strong advocate for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance.

Major global newspaper including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, as well as photos and advertisements.

The oldest continuously published black newspaper dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation.

News Orleans-based newspaper covering 1923-1988

Provides access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This collection includes historically significant papers and features many rare 19th-century titles.

Full text periodicals published between 1740 and 1940.

Major global newspaper including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, as well as photos and advertisements.