Research Guides: HIST 6101: Europe in the Age of Revolutions: Primary Sources

Edited Primary Source Collections

You can find some primary sources in books. Below is a list of relevant subject headings. When searching for these in the catalog, try adding "sources", "documents", "correspondence", "letters", or "writings" to your search.

From Downing Street to the Trenches by Mike Webb
ISBN: 9781851243938

Publication Date: 2014-09-15

Great Britain -- Colonies -- History -- Sources

Library Catalog Search Box

Search for books, articles, and more through our library search system.

How-To Video: Searching Historical Newspapers

Searching for Primary Sources
This learning module will help you understand how to develop a list of keywords and identify and search within appropriate databases to find primary sources.

Newspapers and Magazines

Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile)
Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) is a database covering primary source materials from 1106 until 1960. Provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images.
Gale NewsVault
Platform for cross-searching a range of historical UK newspaper and periodical collections, including 19th century British Library Newspapers (Parts I and II); 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series 1; Times Digital Archive (1785-2006); and, Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (1902-2007)
London Low Life (Adam Matthew)
Contains color digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to street culture and social reform in 18th,19th and early 20th century London.
19th Century British Library Newspapers

Contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain.
19th Century British Pamphlets
Contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries. Pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day.
19th Century UK Periodicals
A major multi-part series of periodicals which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world.
Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992
Iconic British humor and satire magazine. For research on 19th and 20th century political social history.
Times Digital Archive
Historical newspaper archive with full-text coverage of the Times from 1785 to 2013. Supports research across multiple disciplines including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy with coverage of all major international historical events.
Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War
A unique source of information on the common serviceman and woman’s experience of the war. Limit your search by language, unit name, type, origin or location, etc.

Primary Source Digital Collections

Church Missionary Society Periodicals (Adam Matthew)
Documenting missionary work from the nineteenth to the twenty-first century, this resource includes publications from the CMS, the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society.
Colonial America (Modules I and II) (Adam Matthew)
Covering the period 1606 to the 1770s, the collection covers the early history of the colonies, records of piracy and seaborne rivalry with the French and Spanish, military material from the French and Indian War of 1756-63, and the social and political protest that led to the Declaration of Independence. It is also particularly rich in material relating to military affairs and American Indians.
Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO)
Works published in the UK during the 18th century.
Eighteenth Century Journals Portal (Adam Matthew)
Bringing together rare journals printed between c. 1685 and 1835, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs and the French and American revolutions.

Europeana, 1914-1918
Explore stories, films and historical material about the First World War from libraries and archives across the globe

First World War Portal (Adam Matthew)
From personal collections and rare printed material to military files, artwork and audio-visual files, content highlights the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments on both sides of a conflict that shook the world.

Hanover Historical Texts Collection
Makes available digital versions of historical texts for use in history and humanities courses
Hansard (British Parliamentary Debates)

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)
A comprehensive primary source collection focusing on the nineteenth century. This resource features collections on a variety of topics including children's literature, photography, European and African commerce, and more.

The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913
contains criminal trials held at London's central criminal court

more... less...

A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court

DPLA

DPLA
A portal to digitized content made available by libraries, archives and museums

HathiTrust

A repository for digital collections. Items in the public domain (works published before 1923) are freely accessible online.

Internet Archive

A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Includes digitized books, periodicals, media, and more.

Internet Archive