Manuscript and Archival Collections

Annie Alexander was born in Mecklenberg County, NC in 1864 and graduated from Woman's Medical College in Philadelphia in 1884. She returned to North Carolina in 1887 as the first woman to practice medicine in the South. The collection includes letters she wrote to her father, Dr. John Brevard Alexander, while a student and intern at the Women's Medical College in Philadelphia (1884-85); patient records; financial accounts; essays on medical topics; and newspaper clippings.

Papers documenting Martha Alexander's work in the North Carolina House of Representatives from 1992-2012. Includes material on mental health parity, health care reform, the tobacco settlement, NC DNA Registry, CMS Pay for Performance, SIDS and gun control. Also includes items from Alexander's campaigns for public office in the North Carolina Senate and North Carolina House of Representatives.

The Charlotte Branch of the American Association of University Women (AAUW) began in 1913 as a college club for literary study. Minutes, bulletins, yearbooks, scrapbooks, and other material reflecting activities and growth of the organization. Also includes information on the state and national organizations.

Papers of Sister Mary Thomas Burke, long-time faculty member at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte and founder of its Counseling Program. Includes surveys, reports, speeches, writings, biographical information, and other material related to Sister Burke's work and community involvement.

The Charlotte's Women's Club is the oldest civic organization in Charlotte. Organized in 1899 as the Study Club for Mothers, that group enlarged its membership and civic activities in 1902 and became the Charlotte Woman's Club. Includes minutes, newsletters, programs, financial records, 1924 register, scrapbooks, correspondence, and membership applications.

Records documenting the activities and interests of the Mecklenburg County (N.C.) chapter of Church Women United, a national, ecumenical Christian women’s community service organization. Consists of record books and scrapbooks containing booklets, budgets, committee lists, correspondence, financial statements, meeting minutes, membership directories, newsletters, pamphlets, and photographs.

Thereasa Delerine (T.D.) Elder is active in community nursing, church work, and the Charlotte African American community, particularly in efforts to preserve Charlotte's African American history. Materials document the importance of African Americans in politics and community, the value of a healthy and safe neighborhood, and access of education and employment.

This collection consists of material related to the 1993 March on Washington for Lesbian, Gay and Bi-Equal Rights. It contains several CDs from LGBT groups, such as One Voice, the Seattle Men's Chorus and the San Francisco Gay Men's Chorus.

Three drafts of a love letter to Goodwin from David R. Autry, a Confederate soldier stationed at Camp Holmes in Raleigh; two poems, presumably by Goodwin; photographs; and genealogical/biographical information.

Papers of one of the first female landscape architects in North Carolina. Consists primarily of specifications, blueprints, and photographs of landscaping projects in Washington, D.C. (1933-37).

Collection includes personal and business records, including clippings, articles, photographs, legal/financial records, and memorabilia documenting Dale Halton and the Pepsi-Cola Bottling Company of Charlotte.

Includes an issue of Carolina Lesbian News, one issue of the magazine, Women's Voice, and several CDs.

The collection documents Mary McDaniels' environmental work, including her founding of the Catawba Lands Conservancy and her work with the Charlotte Urban Institute.

Sue Wilkins Myrick is the former U.S. Representative for North Carolina's 9th congressional district, serving from 1995 to 2013. She was the first Republican woman to represent North Carolina in Congress. This collection is comprised of items documenting Myrick’s service as a member of the U.S. House of Representatives from North Carolina's 9th district. The papers highlight the congresswoman’s work on health care issues, most notably her work as the co-chair of the Congressional Cancer Caucus; as well as her work as the founder of the Congressional Anti-Terrorism Caucus.

Papers documenting the two mayoral terms (1987-91) of the first female mayor of Charlotte, N.C.

Papers documenting Nance's sex discrimination case against the Union Carbide plant in Charlotte. Consists primarily of legal documents, including motions, briefs, court proceedings, and depositions.

Records of the Charlotte and Metrolina chapters of the National Organization for Women, and date from 1972 to 2009. The collection contains files that were produced as a result of the chapters' organizational functions, and also concern issues of interest to the chapter; key among them was the Equal Rights Amendment, and abortion rights.

Papers documenting Mary Newsom's work at the UNC Charlotte Urban Institute. Contains research notes and City Council and Charlotte-Mecklenburg Planning Commission agendas.

Forty-four papers of a Gaston County resident, including broadsides (ca. 1917) published by the Equal Suffrage Association of North Carolina and the National Woman Suffrage Publishing Company, Inc. and correspondence and printed material (1931-33) concerning activities of the League of Women Voters, including its opposition to the Equal Rights Amendment.

Collection is a small assortment of papers and scrapbooks produced by Winifred Barbour Simpson, from 1931 to 1984. The most notable items in the collection are her scrapbooks (which mostly concern her attendance of Charlotte Technical High School) and the papers that she and her (future) husband produced during WWII.

The collection contains items related to Frances Strouse's tenure at the Zonta Club, primarily from 1980-1981. It contains a photo album, member directory and a 1976 issue of Zontian, the official magazine of Zonta International.

Papers relating to Tilly's novel, Golden Girl (New York: Farrar, Straus, Giroux, 1985), which won the 1986 Juvenile Literature Award presented by the North Carolina division of the American Association of University Women. Includes drafts, correspondence with and notes of her editor, pages and galley proofs, and cassette recording of the author reading her work.

Connie J. Vetter opened her law office in Charlotte, North Carolina in 1994. Her practice focuses primarily on the needs of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals and transgender individuals and couples.

Records of Charlotte's second oldest book club (founded 1893), including yearbooks, newspaper clippings, and invitations.

The collection concerns the perspectives, opinions, and creativity of Julia Willis, a lesbian author in the late twentieth century. The collection consists of her writings: short stories, poems, articles, book drafts, and play scripts.

The records of the Women Executives, of Charlotte, North Carolina, span from 1977 to 2008. These include the organization's charter and bylaws, minutes of meetings, newsletters, membership information, scrapbooks and more.

Papers of a Charlotte widow, including a deed (1848) for a Charlotte lot and an insurance policy (1853) on Young's house, shares of stock (1852) in the Concord Manufacturing Company, receipts (1847, 1849) signed by William Waightstill Avery for property in Morganton, a survey (1855) of land in Cabarrus County, and slave records.