Manuscript and Archival Collections

Papers of Sister Mary Thomas Burke, long-time faculty member at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte and founder of its Counseling Program. Includes surveys, reports, speeches, writings, biographical information, and other material related to Sister Burke's work and community involvement.

The collection contains a small assortment of materials generated by the Campus Freethought Alliance at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, in 2001. This organization was primarily concerned with atheism and agnosticism.

Personal papers of Dean Wallace Colvard (1913-2007), the first chancellor of UNC Charlotte (1966-1978). Includes files regarding his employment at North Carolina’s Brevard College; Swannanoa, North Carolina’s Mountain Research Farms; and at North Carolina State, Mississippi State University, and the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, as well as his involvement with various organizations and committees such as the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics and his numerous publications, including his autobiography, his reflection on racial relations during his time as president of Mississippi State University, and his history of University Research Park.

Personal papers of Cone, director and president of Charlotte College (1947-65) and vice chancellor of student affairs and community relations, UNC Charlotte (1966-73). Includes correspondence, biographical material, files relating to local civic organizations, records as trustee of Coker College, and cassette recordings and transcripts of interviews.

Personal papers of Elbert Kirtley (E.K.) Fretwell, Jr. (1923-2012), the second chancellor of UNC Charlotte (1979-1989). Includes files regarding his service as Vice Consul in Czechoslovakia; his education and early teaching days; his positions at City University of New York, State University of New York at Buffalo, and UNC Charlotte; his involvement with various associations and commissions concerning higher education and transportation, including numerous trips abroad; his publications, including research on women presidents in higher education in the 1970s; and his involvement with the Boy Scouts and the Rotary Club.

The collection consists of a series of research reports produced by Paul Friday primarily during his time in the Department of Criminal Justice at UNC Charlotte in the late 1990s and early 2000s.

Papers of a Charlotte businessman and engineer relating to his role in promoting Charlotte College as a community college and technical institute and in securing for it status as a four year, state supported college. Includes minutes, reports, and recommendations of the Charlotte Chamber of Commerce Education Committee; correspondence with the State Advisory Budget Commission, other state government officials, and individuals in the University of North Carolina system; statistical and research information; and publicity material

Papers documenting Mary Newsom's work at the UNC Charlotte Urban Institute. Contains research notes and City Council and Charlotte-Mecklenburg Planning Commission agendas.

Papers of a key supporter of UNC Charlotte, relating to his membership on the boards of Charlotte College and UNC Charlotte, the UNC system, and other state-wide groups concerned with higher education.

Manuscripts and research material collected by the author of "A Retrospective Vision" (1977), which traces the development of UNC Charlotte during its first decade, 1965-75. Includes drafts and research notes; transcripts and tapes of interviews with faculty, students, staff, and other associates; and copies of the book in various stages of printing.

The J. Kenneth Sanford papers, consist almost entirely of his rough drafts that eventually formed his book "Charlotte and UNC Charlotte: Growing Up Together."

Research notes, drafts, and two bound volumes of Tarlton's thesis, "The Development of the Library of Charlotte College, 1946-July 1, 1965," written for the completion of her Master of Science in Library Science from UNC at Chapel Hill in 1966. Tarlton was a staff member of Atkins Library from 1961-68 and later became director of Dacus Library at Winthrop College, Rock Hill, S.C.

Collection documenting the shooting that took place on the main campus of UNC Charlotte on April 30, 2019. Includes cards, letters, posters and memorabilia items commemorating the tragedy.

Scrapbook of newspaper clippings from the UNC Charlotte basketball team's run in the 1976 NIT tournament

The collection consists largely of correspondence, memoranda and by-laws concerning the UNC Charlotte Rotaract Club and its founding. There are also materials related to the 25th and 40th anniversary celebrations of the UNC Charlotte Rotaract Club as well as a few issues of "Rotaract News."

Office files of Loy H. Witherspoon, founding chair of the UNC Charlotte Department of Religious Studies. Collection is comprised primarily of correspondence and reflects both UNCC and non-UNCC related material.

Collection consists of correspondence, performance programs, and audio recordings from Harvey Woodruff's career as choral director for UNC Greensboro and UNC Charlotte.