Manuscript and Archival Collections

Papers documenting Barrows' work as Managing Editor at The Charlotte Observer and his efforts around journalism credibility to increase the public's confidence in the news media. Contains articles, correspondence, guidelines and handbooks.

Includes autograph post card to photographer Sherril Schell, transcriptions and photocopies of letters and poems, nine portrait photographs by Schell, and letters from Brooke's executor, Edward Marsh, to Schell concerning the photographs.

Papers of a local scientist, author, and collector.

The collection contains papers produced by Jack Claiborne over the course of his career in journalism and media communications, beginning in 1941 and spanning until his retirement as the Associate Vice Chancellor of Public Relations at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte in 2000.

Papers of Harriet Doar, a newspaper journalist, author, poet, and social commentator, whose work primarily was published in the Charlotte News from 1939 to 1946, and the Charlotte Observer from 1959 to 1982. This collection also includes her articles, correspondence, notes on other writers, and research subject files from the mid to late twentieth century.

Collection consists primarily of illustrations of Whitman.

Material relating to "Bugles at the Border" (Winston-Salem: John F. Blair, 1968), an historical novel for children set in Charlotte during the Revolutionary War. Includes typescript, proof, and printed copies of the book and original illustrations by Bruce Tucker.

Papers and selected art work of Haley. The collection includes drafts of her books printing blocks and color separations for some of her illustrations. Gail Haley was the first only person to win both the Caldecott and the Greenway awards for children's book illustration.

Comprised of 4 items and 1 bound volume which are two typescript drafts with holograph corrections, excerpts from a handwritten draft, one set of galley proofs, and one published copy of Catching Saradove.

Donated by Shelton Drum, owner of Heroes Aren't Hard to Find, the collection contains several specialty comics that are HeroesCon-themed or were designed by Charlotte artists. Additionally, there is a series of convention booklets from HeroesCon.

Papers of a two-time winner of the Juvenile Literature Award presented annually by the North Carolina branch of the American Association of University Women. Includes manuscripts, correspondence, and clippings concerning her books, Eating Crow (1988) and Talking Turkey (1990).

Papers of a winner of the Juvenile Literature Award presented annually by the North Carolina American Association of University Women. Includes correspondence with publisher relating to Tancy (1984) and the manuscript and galleys of The Nightwalker (1989).

The collection consists of comic books published during the Silver Age (1956-1972) of American comic books, from a variety of publishers including DC Comics, Marvel Comics, Archie Comics, Charlton Comics, and Gilberton.

Mary Norton Kratt's papers concern her career as a writer, newspaper journalist, biographer and poet. She primarily wrote about Southern culture in the twentieth century

Primarily drafts and revisions of screenplays of North Carolina writer James Lineberger. Also includes poetry, lyric sheets for a musical, and manuscripts for a stage play and a novel.

Typescript drafts of five essays and one book review, dated January-March 1939, by H. L. Mencken. All bear extensive corrections in Mencken's own hand in pencil or pen.

Printed ephemera produced by a fine press publisher founded in 1929 by George Macy. Consists primarily of advance annual listings, prospectuses, and other descriptions of the club's publications.

Papers and records pertaining to the research needed to publish "The North Carolina century: Tar Heels who made a difference, 1900-2000," published by Levine Museum of the New South in Charlotte, NC.

The collection consists of comic books published by DC Comics and Marvel Comics, the bulk of which were published during the Bronze Age (1972-1986) of American comic books.

Included are materials generated by Pride Publishing and Typesetting, Inc., of Charlotte, publisher of QNotes, one of the oldest, continuously published LGBT community newspapers on the East Coast and the oldest in the Carolinas.

Archibald Hamilton Rutledge (1883–1973) was an American poet and educator, the first South Carolina poet laureate from 1934 to 1973. The collection includes a response to Mickey Mizell in appreciation for comments on Rutledge's poetry.

Chiefly printed copies of short stories by a Charlotte writer. Also includes an incomplete typescript of her novel, Beyond Surrender, drafts of an untitled and unfinished novel, manuscript and typed copies of 15 short stories, articles about her writing, and obituaries.

Literary manuscripts of a poet, teacher, and UNC Charlotte graduate. Includes correspondence, promotional material, and drafts, typescripts, and printed copies of poems, stories, and reviews.

Publications of the Stanbrook Abbey Press, a monastic press established by Friar Laurence Shepherd in Worcester, England in 1876, and operated by the nuns of the English Benedictine Congregation. The publications feature hand-set printing on handmade papers, and were sometimes illuminated.

This collection contains newspaper clippings, advertising brochures, and correspondence. The clippings are primarily reviews of Stone publications, while the correspondence is composed chiefly of business letters from newspaper editors.

Papers of the editor and publisher of The Photo-Miniature (1899-1935), an early photography magazine.

Papers of a Charlotte widow who wrote, under the byline of "The Carolina Housewife," for The Charlotte Observer during the 1930s and 1940s. Includes typescripts of her columns, recipes, and letters from readers asking for advice and recommending recipes.

The collection concerns the perspectives, opinions, and creativity of Julia Willis, a lesbian author in the late twentieth century. The collection consists of her writings: short stories, poems, articles, book drafts, and play scripts.