Critical essays covering more than 750 authors and includes numerous entries focusing on individual titles and topics in children’s and young adult literature, including picture books, folklore, and graphic novels.
This collection includes literary criticism on the works of playwrights from all time periods and nationalities, and to present discerning commentary on dramatic works of enduring interest. Full text coverage from 1991-2022.
This series includes critical essays on the works of writers from the late Medieval period through the European Renaissance and Enlightenment and the age of colonial expansion. Full text coverage from 1984-2023.
This series provides a critical perspective on some of the most influential poems and renowned poets from around the globe, featuring critical commentary, scholarly discourse, and biographical context. Full text coverage from 1991-2023.
Contains critical responses from the 17th century to today that document the reaction of scholars and commentators, from a variety of viewpoints, on Shakespeare's literary works and performances. Full text coverage from 1984-2023.
A historical survey of literary theory and criticism. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements. Also the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Key Concepts in Literary Theory presents the student of literary and critical studies with a broad range of accessible, precise and authoritative definitions of the most significant terms and concepts currently used in psychoanalytic, poststructuralist, Marxist, feminist, and postcolonialliterary studies.