Research Guides: WRDS 1104: The Rhetoric of Food: Finding Scholarly Articles

Relevant Databases

Use these resources to find scholarly sources, primary sources, and newspaper articles about your topic.

Food and Drink in History (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
Explores primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles and other sources on the history of the US and Canada. See Historical Abstracts for world history.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
References to journal articles and other sources on the history of the world (excluding U.S and Canada).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in America from 1639-1800.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable American newspaper collections, including African American Newspapers Series 1, 1827-1998; Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876; South Carolina's Historical Newspapers; Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980; and selected historical newspapers.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper articles covering international, national, and local news. Includes the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Charlotte Observer, and many others.

Scholarly Journals on Food and Culture

Food, Culture, & Society
Food, Culture and Society: An International Journal of Multidisciplinary Research is an international peer-reviewed publication dedicated to exploring the complex relationships among food, culture, and society from numerous disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as in the world of food beyond the academy.
Food and Foodways Online
Food and Foodways is an international journal devoted to publishing on the history and culture of human nourishment. By reflecting on the role food plays in human relations, this unique journal explores the powerful but often subtle ways in which food has shaped, and shapes, our lives socially, economically, politically, mentally, nutritionally, and morally.
Gastronomica: the Journal of Critical Food Studies
In the pages of Gastronomica, you will find examinations of historical trends and transformations in food and eating; analyses of the political, economic, and social dimensions of food production and consumption; research briefs on emerging issues in fields related to food research and innovation; and interviews with key figures in the world of food (scholars, activists, producers, and consumers).
Journal of Ethnic Foods
The Journal of Ethnic Foods is dedicated to provide reliable information about people’s consumption of food, as well as the superiority or creativity developed from the long-term accumulated traditional understanding and knowledge in foods.
Culture, Agriculture, Food, and Environment
Culture, Agriculture, Food and Environment has an interdisciplinary readership among anthropologists and archaeologists, as well as researchers and practitioners in related fields including sociology, agricultural economics, food studies, policy sciences, and diverse branches of farming and natural resources management.

Atkins Library Special Collections resources

Ed Perzel WSOC Project on Twentieth Century Charlotte
In 1979, UNC Charlotte history professor Dr. Edward Perzel and a handful of dedicated volunteers conducted oral history interviews with elderly citizens from across Charlotte and Mecklenburg County. The project was sponsored by WSOC, a local media company, and initial interviews took place between May 21 and May 25 at the main branch of the Charlotte Public Library as part of Older Americans Month. The interviews capture an eclectic range of reminiscences on local history from the late nineteenth century to the middle of the twentieth century.
The Queen's Garden: Oral Histories of the Piedmont Foodshed
The Queen's Garden: Oral Histories of the Piedmont Foodshed explores the rewards and challenges of those who have currently and historically participated in and helped to create the North Carolina Piedmont region's foodshed. By documenting the oral histories of farmers, gardeners, ranchers, gleaners, and individuals contributing to other food distribution efforts, the project was designed to portray the sometimes unexpected and creative ways that local food production and distribution have occurred and changed over time. Interviews include seventeen farmers, nine livestock producers, four community gardeners, a beekeeper, a feed mill operator, and six community activists involved in food re/distribution. Graduate students in Dr. Karen Flint's Oral History and Memory class at UNC Charlotte conducted the interviews in the spring of 2019.
Digital North Carolina (link to food)
The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center is a statewide digitization and digital publishing program housed at UNC’s Wilson Special Collections Library. Wilson Library works with North Carolina cultural heritage institutions to scan, describe, and publish historical materials online, which in turn increases access to and use of their collections. Wilson Library is North Carolina’s hub for the Digital Public Library of America.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America amplifies the value of libraries and cultural organizations as Americans’ most trusted sources of shared knowledge. They do this by collaborating with partners to accelerate innovative tools and ideas that empower and equip libraries to make information more accessible.

Is this Article Right for Me?

Finding scholarly articles is one thing, figuring out if they are right for your research project is another. What should you look for if you are trying to determine if you might use a scholarly article for you research?

Title: This will give you the first indication of how the article relates to your topic.

Author(s): Who are the authors? What qualifications do they have on this topic? Have they written about this topic elsewhere?

Source: What journal is this coming from? Does the journal have a peer review process?

Abstract: This is a great snapshot of the entire article. What questions or problems does this research address? Where does this research fit within the existing scholarly conversation? How does this research relate to your topic?

WRDS 1104: The Rhetoric of Food

Relevant Databases

Scholarly Journals on Food and Culture

Atkins Library Special Collections resources

Is this Article Right for Me?

BrowZine Journal Lookup