Research Guides: HIST 3105: French Revolution and Napoleon: Primary Sources

Edited Primary Source Collections

You can find some primary sources in books. Below is a list of relevant subject headings. When searching for these in the catalog, try adding "sources", "documents", "correspondence", "letters", or "writings" to your search.

Library Catalog Search Box

Search for books, articles, and more through our library search system.

Edited Collections

The French Revolution and Napoleon by Philip Dwyer (Editor); Peter McPhee (Editor)
ISBN: 1280106050
Napoleonic Foot Soldiers and Civilians by Rafe Blaufarb; Claudia Liebeskind
ISBN: 9780312487003

The Mind of Napoleon by J. Christopher Herold (Editor)
ISBN: 9780231085236
Witnessing the Revolutionary and Napoleonic Wars in German Central Europe by Leighton James
ISBN: 9780230249172

French Revolution and Napoleon

French Revolution Digital Archive
Multi-year collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) to produce a digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution
Liberty, Equality, Fraternity: Exploring the French Revolution
Includes archive of some of the most important documentary evidence from the Revolution
Napoleonic Satires
The Napoleonic satires housed in the Anne S. K. Brown Military collection of the John Hay Library
Napoleonica
Napoleonic primary sources

Primary Source Digital Collections

EuroDocs
Selected transcriptions, facsimiles and translations documenting European History
World Digital Library
Significant primary materials from all countries and cultures
British History Online
Printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800.

Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) This link opens in a new window
Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) is a database covering primary source materials from 1106 until 1960. Provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images.
Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Works published in the UK during the 18th century.
Eighteenth Century Journals Portal (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
Bringing together rare journals printed between c. 1685 and 1835, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered are wide-ranging and include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs and the French and American revolutions.

Hanover Historical Texts Collection
Makes available digital versions of historical texts for use in history and humanities courses
Hansard (British Parliamentary Debates)

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive primary source collection focusing on the nineteenth century. This resource features collections on a variety of topics including children's literature, photography, European and African commerce, and more.

The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913
contains criminal trials held at London's central criminal court
more...less...
A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court

Newspapers

Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper archive with full-text coverage of the Times from 1785 to 2013. Supports research across multiple disciplines including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy with coverage of all major international historical events.
London Low Life (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
Contains color digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to street culture and social reform in 18th,19th and early 20th century London.
Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992 This link opens in a new window
Iconic British humor and satire magazine. For research on 19th and 20th century political social history.
19th Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain.
19th Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
A major multi-part series of periodicals which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world.
19th Century British Pamphlets This link opens in a new window
Contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries. Pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day.

DPLA

DPLA
A portal to digitized content made available by libraries, archives and museums

HathiTrust

A repository for digital collections. Items in the public domain (works published before 1923) are freely accessible online.