Research Guides: Newspapers and Magazines: Historical Newspapers

Global Historical Newspapers

New York Times Historical Archives (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window
Major global newspaper including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, as well as photos and advertisements.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper archive with full-text coverage of the Times from 1785 to 2013. Supports research across multiple disciplines including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy with coverage of all major international historical events.

Historical Newspapers (US)

Explore a full list of historical newspaper databases available through Atkins Library and beyond from this Research Guide.

Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912 This link opens in a new window
A 19th century illustrated newspaper from 1857-1912. Includes news stories, illustrations, cartoons, editorials, biographies, literature and advertisements.
Times Picayune (1923-1988) This link opens in a new window
News Orleans-based newspaper covering 1923-1988
Chicago Defender (1910-1975) This link opens in a new window
A leading African-American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside of Chicago.
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1942) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper includes obituaries, stocks and editorials.

Local Historical Newspapers

Charlotte News
The afternoon newspaper in Charlotte that began as the The Charlotte News and Evening Chronicle and later became part of the Charlotte Observer (1888-1985).

Charlotte Observer (1886-present) This link opens in a new window
Charlotte Observer online from 1886 to the present.

The Charlotte Post
Digitized copies are now available through DigitalNC (1930-34, 1971-2006).
The Charlotte Labor Journal and Dixie Farm News
Digitized copies are now available through DigitalNC (1935-1953).

Browse Charlotte and surrounding area newspapers available in our collection:

Charlotte (N.C.) -- Newspapers
Mecklenburg County (N.C.) -- Newspapers
South Carolina -- Newspapers
Raleigh (N.C.) -- Newspapers

These newspapers are available in a range of formats (online, microfilm and/or print). We have microfilm readers on the 2nd floor of the library and a Technology Support Desk to help you use them.

Browse more digitized Charlotte and surrounding area newspapers from this DigitalNC North Carolina newspapers map.

Jewish Newspapers

American Hebrew and Jewish Messenger (1857-1922) This link opens in a new window
The American Hebrew was a weekly Jewish newspaper published in New York City. In 1903 it merged with the Jewish Messenger. Covered many topics of Jewish interest internationally.
Jewish Advocate (1905-1990) This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1902, this is the oldest continually-circulated English-language Jewish newspaper in the United States.
Jewish Exponent (1887-1990) This link opens in a new window
Carried news of developments in Israel, efforts to rescue Jews the world over from repressive regimes, and the ever-expanding role of Jews in American public life.

British Newspapers/Periodicals

19th Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain.
19th Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
A major multi-part series of periodicals which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper archive with full-text coverage of the Times from 1785 to 2013. Supports research across multiple disciplines including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy with coverage of all major international historical events.
London Low Life (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
Contains color digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.
Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992 This link opens in a new window
Iconic British humor and satire magazine. For research on 19th and 20th century political social history.

Newspapers on Microfilm

Browse newspaper series (some available electronically and others available only on microfilm): Early American Newspapers

Carolina Israelite (1944-1969)
Charlotte News (1963-1985)
Raleigh News & Observer (1969-2018)
We have electronic access from 1991-present.
The State (Columbia, SC) (1933-1996)
1933-1996 on microfilm and in print. Electronic access from 1987-present.
Los Angeles Times (1984-2019)
We have electronic access from 1996-present.
Wall Street Journal (1899-1959)
We have electronic access from 1984-present.

Newspapers and Magazines

Search for News

Search for NC and SC Historical Newspapers