Library Journal released a reviewed list called "Best Reference 2021", which included two sublists: Best Databases and Best Free Resources. Mahnaz Dar, one of the reviewers and article authors, opens up this list of curated resources reflecting on the past year, and how the reviewed resources connect with the experiences and challenges throughout 2021.
Though 2021 was another tough year, it also brought some spots of joy—including visually arresting, thought-provoking, and inspiring reference works... The year to come may be a hard one, but the books, databases, and free resources listed here will meet readers where they are, whether they’re seeking information or simply a few moments of pleasure and respite (2022, p.26).
The “Best Free Resources” list was edited and reviewed by Mahnaz Dar and Gary Price. You can view the entire curated list by viewing the article online, and links will be provided at the end of this post. For now, let’s take a look at four of the best free resources of 2021.
-
Climate Change Laws of the World
Grantham Research Institute and Sabin Center for Climate Change Law, Columbia Law School
This free database covers climate change legislation and policies from around the globe. You can view individual laws, policies, and litigation cases dating back to 1947 to present day. Each case provides you with a summary, a small timeline, and additional documents. You can also view climate change laws through country profiles and through an interactive data visualization map, which is super cool — but I love data visualization, so I may be a little biased.
-
Our World in Data
Global Change Data Lab
This resource offers charts and reliable reports across a variety of subjects and topics, and draws on data from key sources including the government, specialized institutes, and more. You can review reports on the poverty gap, coffee bean production of 2018, asthma prevalence, and much more. More recently, the website has made COVID-19 data available for visualization and review.
-
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS)
SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library
This online database is primarily a search tool for you to discover free and open content more easily than you would using Google. It searches across hundreds of academic institutions and makes free digital collections conveniently accessible through one, single search tool. OASIS connects you to including free textbooks, podcasts, courses, and interactive simulations.
-
The Muhammad Ali Digital Museum
Muhammad Ali Center
This digital museum captures the inspirational life and legacy of none other than Muhammd Ali. Through a variety of formats and collections, you can explore his life from multiple perspectives— as an athlete, an activist, and a human being.
You can access the rest of the article here under EBSCOhost. If you have trouble accessing that direct link, you can find this article here in the library catalog with other access options. I'm interested to know what you think about these free resources, or about any of the other resources listed in the article, so leave your comments below!
Please Note: You will need to be logged into your library account before being able to access the online article.
Dar, M., Knapp, M., Pugl, D., Selwyn, L., & Tench, R. (2022). Best Reference 2021. Library Journal, 147(3), 26–33.