E-Resources Digest

Sage Business Cases is a digital collection that provides access to THOUSANDS of business cases from over 100 countries! The collection covers emerging and underserved topics, representing a diverse and global business environment, to demonstrate how theories can be applied practically in real organizations.

You can browse Business Cases in a variety of ways:

• Discipline allows you to pick a field of your choice such as Accounting, Leadership, Strategic Management, etc. to discover cases relevant to your research and desired field.
• Sage Originals are curated Case groups commissioned, developed and published by Sage! These cases include additional content such as teaching notes, discussions questions and learning objectives. Some of the categories available include Global Marketing, Immigrant Entrepreneurs, and Events Management.
• Enhanced Cases are business cases that include data, video, teaching tools and audio materials to enhance your learning experience. 

You can also browse by Region, where you can select a specific country, and you can scroll through a list of Content Partners in case you’d like to review business cases created by a specific organization.

Explore this resource more and reach out to our Business Librarian, Angel Truesdale, for any questions! 

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) is an essential database that provides in-depth information about behavioral measurement tools across a variety of disciplines, including medicine, nursing, public health, psychology, social work, sociology, communication, and organizational behavior.

With HaPI, you’ll find detailed records describing a variety of different types of measurement instruments that will help enhance the quality, reliability, and validity of your behavioral research. The database covers coding schemes, interview schedules, questionnaires, rating scales, checklists, and much more!

Social Explorer provides access to thousands of data indicators across the social sciences and humanities, including demography, economy, crime and more. The user-friendly platform makes it easy for for students, faculty, and researchers to visualize a variety of data indicators for research projects and enhancing course curriculums. The datasets are already available to you in the form of Tables or ready-to-go maps, allowing you quick access to the data points you need for any location of interest.

Multidisciplinary Data Maps
Whether you're interested in discovering U.S. business patterns for a specific region, want to analyze COVID-19 data across different states, or want to know more about the unemployment rate across Asia, Social Explorer has a ton of data points available for you — including a data set focused on Ireland's religion and population from 1911 to 2001. 

Demographic Profiles
Aren't sure where to start with your project? Need to find more background information about a neighborhood?
Social Explorer offers a search engine to help you find the right information about your target community, and offers location suggestions to help get you started.

Training Modules & Course Support
While the platform is super easy to navigate, some of us may need a little extra help or want to do more in-depth research. Training modules are available to offer hands-on training on data categories, types of visualizations, using layers, and so on. Each module opens up to an example data set and gives you a step-by-step learning experience with the different mapping functions.

For our professors that are interested in integrating Social Explorer into their coursework, Social Explorer offers "Lecture Launchers" which are mini-modules that students can open and explore a specific dataset accompanied by prompted exercises and discussion questions. These are available for a handful of topics including psychology, political science, social work, etc. Each "Launcher" also specifies the knowledge level and the expected amount of time it takes for each one to be completed.

Want to learn more? Check out Social Explorer Now!

Swank Digital Campus provides access to streaming films that support instruction both in and outside of the classroom, and to promote active and engaged learning. Featuring a mix of classic flicks and popular favorites, our Swank collection includes course-assigned films and other hand-picked titles by our Film Studies librarian. Some recently available films include Get Out (2017), Moana (2016), Joker (2019), and The Wizard of Oz (1939). These films may switch out every now and again, so make sure you check out the titles that are now available from Swank — Be sure to select "Student" if you are prompted to choose a role.

You can also check out our Swank Film Library Collection!

If you're an instructor interested in using a streaming video for one of your courses, you can use our Electronic Course Material Request Form to let us know you're planning on using an existing film from our collection or to request we purchase one for you!

Get ready for the upcoming semester by checking out our Course eTextbooks collection! This collection holds electronic versions of course-assigned texts that you can access through the library for free. Just like all of our other electronic books, these eTextbooks don’t have any loan periods and multiple people can access them at same time – there are no waitlists and you can access these books anytime, anywhere!

You can search this collection by Title, ISBN, Instructor’s Last Name, and Course Subject & Code (ex. HONR3700). 

If you want to learn more about eTextbooks and Course Reserves, take a look at our Textbook Affordability Student Resources page where you can search for electronic and print course materials, learn more about Niner Course Pack, and more.