This guide provides information about accessibility at Atkins Library and UNC Charlotte, covering elevators, bathrooms, parking, and more.
Atkins Library was originally built in 1964 and has undergone multiple construction additions which affect its accessibility. We hope this guide will help you navigate the library for maximum accessibility.
Use the links on the left to navigate to different sections of the guide.
In addition to this guide, we maintain a broader library accessibility page (https://library.charlotte.edu/visit-study/accessibility) for patrons and visitors. It contains similar information to this guide but does not focus specifically on job candidates.
For information about accessibility beyond the library and at the campus-level, visit
Unfortunately, there is no parking near library entrances. The library is located in a central part of campus, about one-quarter mile from the nearest parking lot.
The nearest parking lots and decks have varying degrees of distance, steepness, and ramp access. Depending on where you park, the most accessible route to the library may involve a mixture of indoor movement using stairs/elevators and outdoor travel on walkways and paths. See our Directions & Parking page (https://library.charlotte.edu/visit-study/directions-parking) for information about paths to the library.
To use an interactive map of campus with parking and accessible pathways, visit the Interactive Campus Map (https://facilities.charlotte.edu/our-services/maps/interactive-campus-map) site. Under layers, open "parking" then select the boxes for "disability" and "ADA spaces" for accessible parking. Then open the layer "accessibility" then select the boxes of "ADA Pathways". You can also select "ADA Entrances" if you would like to see accessible entrances on campus.
Find general parking information including campus maps at the Parking Overview (https://pats.charlotte.edu/parking/parking-overview) site.
If employees use a permit to park in handicap accessible spaces, the university will ask for this information when employees register for their campus parking permit.
The university provides a disability paratransit service (https://pats.charlotte.edu/transportation/disability-paratransit) for people with mobility needs. The service can pick you up at a scheduled time and bring you closer to the North Entrance of Atkins Library.
Atkins library has both public and employee-only entrances into Atkins Library.
Both of these public entryways are flat and covered. They are accessible by ramps and stairs.
Both entrances have two sets of single doors with actuators and a vestibule in between.
From the outside, buttons on your right activate the actuators
When exiting, the buttons are on your left
You must press a button for each set of doors on either side of the vestibule
The South Entrance enters on the first floor (https://library.charlotte.edu/visit-study/floor-maps/main-floor) and is also known as the “Main Entrance.”
The North Entrance enters on the ground floor (https://library.charlotte.edu/visit-study/floor-maps/ground-floor) and is also known as the “Back Entrance.”
In addition to the North Entrance, you may also enter the ground floor through the Library Café.
These doors have no actuators. This entrance is only available during the hours in which the cafe is open. See cafe hours (https://library.charlotte.edu/visit-study/hours/library-cafe). The paths leading to this entrance have a variety levels, please refer to the campus map of ADA paths for the most up to date ADA accessible path for this entrance.
We have multiple entryways which are accessible only to those with an employee identification card.
This entryway leads to the Administration offices on the second floor.
Stairs and a ramp lead up to these doors from the outside. A keycard is required. This door has an actuator.
From the outside, buttons on the right to activate the actuators
When exiting, the buttons are on the left
To reach the Admin offices from this entrance, there are stairs to climb up one floor, then another door which requires a keycard.
Another single door on the North side of the building enters into offices on the Lower Level.
There is a mild slope outside leading up to this door.
From this entrance, there is access the employee-only elevators which travel between the Lower Level and floor 3.
A single door on the West side of the building also enters into offices on the Lower Level.
There is a steep slope leading up to this door.
Although we can’t list each of the doors in the library individually, it’s important to note that no internal doors have actuators except for those at ADA accessible bathrooms.
There are many internal doors which require card-swipe access and automatically lock themselves to the outside. Doors with this access method include entrances to some office suites, meeting rooms, classrooms, and other specialized rooms.
Most individual offices require a physical key, and these doors can be configured to remain either locked or unlocked by default.
The building has a total of 12 floors. From bottom to top, the floors are labeled “lower level,” “ground,” and floors 1–10. See the floor maps for each floor (https://library.charlotte.edu/visit-study/floor-maps) for more information.
The lower level is not accessible to patrons. Some employee offices are located on the basement floor. The flooring is carpeted.
We consider these the “main” floors of the library. They are open to patrons. Except in designated areas, these floors welcome collaboration, so we expect them to be “loud.” The flooring is carpeted. These floors receive natural light.
Floor 4 is not accessible to patrons. No employee offices are located on the fourth floor.
We refer to floors 5–10 as the “tower” floors. They are open to patrons. All areas of these floors are designated for silent study. The flooring is tiled. These floors receive natural light. The ninth floor is not open to the public.
Note 2024 - Present: The tower floors of 5-10 are currently closed while the tower elevators are under construction.
Floor 9 is not open to the public and is used by Special Collections and University Archives for offices, storage and work space
Note 2024 - Present: The tower floors of 5-10 are currently closed while the tower elevators are under construction.
The 10th Floor is also open to the public, includes Special Collections and University Archives offices, study space and a special space known as the Dalton Reading Room which houses rare books and manuscripts and is the space for visitors to review special collections and university archives materials.
Note 2024 - Present: The tower floors of 5-10 are currently closed while the tower elevators are under construction.
All stairs have contrast striping except for those in the Special Collections Reading Room (Dalton Reading Room) on the tenth floor
Please ask an Atkins employee for assistance if you would like to use the staff elevator to move between floors.
Atkins Library has five elevators. Three elevators are open to the public, and two are employee only. The library has undergone multiple additions since it was built which affects elevator design and placement. These elevators are close to the following unit offices:
*There are no elevators directly by the administrative offices, but there are multiple clear pathways between the elevators and the administrative offices.
There are two, side by side elevators in the tower that provide access to the ground level through the 10th floor of the building. These elevators do not meet ADA accessible guidelines for wheelchairs and mobility aids. These elevators are close to the offices for:
*Some offices for Special Collections and University Archives are located on the Lower Level. They can be accessed with the staff elevator.
Note 2024 - Present: The tower floors of 5-10 are currently closed while the tower elevators are under construction.
The public and ADA-compliant elevators is also in the center of the building but only provides access to the ground, first, second, and third floors. This elevator is close to the following offices:
The employee elevator, referred to as the staff elevator, is card swipe access only and is the closest elevator to the north entrance. This elevator accesses the lower level, ground, first, second and third floors. It is ADA compliant and accessible to wheelchairs and other mobility devices. This elevator is close to the following offices:
This elevator is reserved for use by personnel in Facilities Management and Atkins Building Operations. It provides access to the ground floor, first floor, and second floor
Our building has a variety of bathrooms to meet different needs. Please see the library’s floor maps (https://library.charlotte.edu/visit-study/floor-maps) for their specific location within the library. All the bathrooms have automatic flush toilets, automatic sinks and automatic paper towel dispensers.
Find these bathrooms near the elevators on fifth-eight floor and tenth floor. They are open to the public.
The doors to these bathrooms don’t have actuators; they must be opened manually. The doors can be locked from the inside.
Note 2024 - Present: The tower floors of 5-10 are currently closed while the tower elevators are under construction.
There are bathrooms on the ground, first, second, and third floors with actuators that open two single doors into the bathroom. The bathrooms are located in the middle of the building near the tower floors and are close to the following offices:
They are in high traffic areas and are used by students, library employees, and the public. There is one ADA/handicapped stall in each bathroom.
There are bathrooms without actuators on the lower level, ground, first, second, and third floors. They are located near the following offices:
These are in lower traffic areas and most often used by library staff and faculty. These bathrooms have single doors which must be manually opened. There is one ADA/handicapped stall in each bathroom.
Atkins Library has a single occupancy room to provide privacy for lactation. Atkins Library does not maintain this room, and users must register and sign up with Human Resources. For more information about lactation rooms on campus, please visit Human Resources Lactation Policy (https://legal.charlotte.edu/policies/up-101.20). This room is on the ground floor.
Clickable Link Single Occupancy Restrooms
URL: legal.charlotte.edu/legal-topics/nondiscrimination/restrooms
From the website: UNC Charlotte is committed to building unisex accessible restrooms across campus to make selecting a restroom easier for all our students, faculty, and staff.
Note 2024 - Present: The tower floors of 5-10 are currently closed while the tower elevators are under construction.
Clickable Link: Disability Paratransit
URL: pats.charlotte.edu/transportation/disability-paratransit
From the website: Niner Paratransit provides disability transport for those with mobility impairments who are registered for the service.
Clickable Link: Reasonable Accommodations
URL: https://hr.charlotte.edu/about-hr/personnel-information-memorandums-pims/pim-50-reasonable-accommodation/
From the website: The University of North Carolina at Charlotte (UNC Charlotte) provides reasonable accommodation to employees and/or applicants who are disabled or become disabled and need assistance to perform the essential functions of their positions.
