Research Guides: HIST 4600: World War II: The "Good War"?: Primary Sources

Government Documents

British Cabinet Papers
Digitized by The National Archives
Hansard (British Parliamentary Debates)
Foreign Relations of the United States
1914-1980. Official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication.

ProQuest Congressional Hearings This link opens in a new window
Access congressional publications dealing with the wide variety of topics addressed by Congress.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, 1817-1962.

Edited Primary Source Collections

You can find some primary sources in books. Below is a list of relevant subject headings. When searching for these in the catalog, try adding "sources", "documents", "correspondence", "letters", or "writings" to your search.

American Decades: Primary Sources
ISBN: 978-0810357266

Primary Source Databases and Collections

Avalon Project
Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy.This project provides digital copies of hundreds of original documents from a myriad of topics in US History.
Eurodocs
Western European Primary Historical Documents
Guide to WWII Materials
Compiled by Library of Congress
Internet Modern History Sourcebook
Primary sources - Fordham University

Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life This link opens in a new window
First-person accounts from interned Japanese Americans during World War II.
New York Times Historical Archives (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window
Major global newspaper including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, as well as photos and advertisements.
Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992 This link opens in a new window
Iconic British humor and satire magazine. For research on 19th and 20th century political social history.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Index for general-interest, news, and opinion magazines published primarily in the United States.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper archive with full-text coverage of the Times from 1785 to 2013. Supports research across multiple disciplines including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy with coverage of all major international historical events.

Veterans' History Project
A project of the American Folklife Center of the Library of Congress
Vital Speeches of the Day
Provides full-text of speeches on a wide-range of political topics dating from 1934 to the present.

Propaganda Film

Don't Be a Sucker (1947)
Short film produced by the U.S. War Department. Prelinger Archives. The Internet Archive.

Internet Archive:

Moving Image Archive

DPLA

DPLA
A portal to digitized content made available by libraries, archives and museums

HathiTrust

A repository for digital collections. Items in the public domain (works published before 1923) are freely accessible online.

Internet Archive

A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Includes digitized books, periodicals, media, and more.

Internet Archive