Research Guides: KNES 6115: Research Methods in Kinesiology: Articles/Databases

Kinesiology/Health Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Contains millions of citations for biomedical and health literature from MEDLINE and other sources. To access full text from Atkins Library's journal collections in addition to full-text content from PubMed Central and open access publications, use the links provided on Atkins Library web pages.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Collaboration provides the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes completed systematic reviews and meta-analyses completed according to Cochrane's rigorous methods, and protocols for systematic reviews in progress.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of three databases (CDSR, CENTRAL, and Clinical Answers) that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.

PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Citations and abstracts of controlled trials in physical therapy.
Free or open source.
more...less...
PEDro provides free, public access to citations and abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physical therapy. Based at the University of Sydney, Australia, PEDro currently contains citations of over 11,400 randomized controlled trials and the contents are regularly updated.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full text articles primarily for nursing and allied health professionals. Coverage from 1937 to present.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database is a good starting point for sports and sports medicine research; it includes journal articles, books, dissertations, and other scholarly sources about nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology, and kinesiology.

Trip Database
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence, including practice guidelines, to support their practice and/or care

Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
This database provides a broad range of content from peer-reviewed journals, newspapers, and other sources on topics including physical education, sports medicine, kinesiology, coaching and training, and related subjects.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Literature across all fields of science and social science. Comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science and social science. Provides access to more than 850 of Elsevier's primary research journals, which focus on scientific, medical, biomedical and technical areas.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database includes a citation mapping feature that allows you to track research across time, including almost 1.7 billion cited references allowing for comprehensive searches.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health and is produced by the American Psychological Association.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, and book series in the sciences including: chemical sciences, computer science, engineering, environmental sciences, geosciences, life sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics from the publisher, Springer-Verlag.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Primal Pictures This link opens in a new window
This anatomy and physiology resource includes a 3D anatomical atlas, interactive human anatomy and physiology modules, and functional anatomy modules including animations. These modules can be used for independent study and review of human anatomy and physiology. In addition, faculty members can use images and other content in their lectures, online courses, and other course materials. *Note: If you encounter a Flash popup, please select the checkbox to not see the box again.*