Research Guides: LBST 2101: Leadership in African American Communities: Research Guide

Reference Sources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and Reference sources in Arts, Biography, Education, Environment, History, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science and Social Science.

Reference eBooks (provided by Atkins Library):

Encyclopedia of African American Society

Encyclopedia of African American Politics

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History

The concise Oxford companion to African American literature

Oxford Dictionary of Quotations

Primary Sources (19th Century)

African American Newspapers Series 1: 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African-American experience. This collection includes historically significant papers and features many rare 19th-century titles.
African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800's and includes first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, the humanities, world travel and religion.
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
19th Century African American newspapers, American County Histories to 1900, American Civil War Primary Sources, and more.
Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) This link opens in a new window
Eight Centuries (formerly 19th Century Masterfile) is a database covering primary source materials from 1106 until 1960. Provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images.
New York Times Historical Archives (1851-2010) This link opens in a new window
Major global newspaper including news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, as well as photos and advertisements.
North Carolina Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
North Carolina Historical newspapers from late 1700s to 1859
South Carolina's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
South Carolina Historical newspapers from late 1700s to 1859.

Open Access resources:

DPLA (Digital Public Library of America)

Portal to all of the digitized content that U.S. libraries, archives and museums are making available freely online

Chronicling America (1777-1963)

Search across newspapers from around the country by state, date and keyword. A digitization project of the Library of Congress and NEH.

How-To Video: Searching Historical Newspapers

Searching for Primary Sources
This learning module will help you understand how to develop a list of keywords and identify and search within appropriate databases to find primary sources.

LBST 2101: Leadership in African American Communities

Print reference sources (at Atkins Library)

Need Help?

Reference Sources

Primary Sources (19th Century)

How-To Video: Searching Historical Newspapers