Research Guides: Atkins Library Research Help: Home

Atkins Library Research FAQs

Have a question for us? Start typing your question below to pull up our FAQs. Don't see an answer to the question you have? Contact us at askatkins@charlotte.edu.

Top Ten Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, and finance.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full text articles primarily for nursing and allied health professionals. Coverage from 1937 to present.
ERIC Database (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly research pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health and is produced by the American Psychological Association.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Contains millions of citations for biomedical and health literature from MEDLINE and other sources. To access full text from Atkins Library's journal collections in addition to full-text content from PubMed Central and open access publications, use the links provided on Atkins Library web pages.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Literature across all fields of science and social science. Comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science and social science. Provides access to more than 850 of Elsevier's primary research journals, which focus on scientific, medical, biomedical and technical areas.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database includes a citation mapping feature that allows you to track research across time, including almost 1.7 billion cited references allowing for comprehensive searches.

If you need more specific databases, go to Databases by Subject.

VIDEO: Welcome to Atkins Library

This video introduces you to the services and resources available from Atkins Library.

VIDEO: Research Assistance at Atkins Library

This video highlights the various ways to get research assistance from Atkins Library.

Library Catalog Search

Search for books, articles, and more through our library search system.

Getting Help

The best way to get help with your research project is to contact your subject librarian. They will be able to help you find the most relevant resources on your topic. Use the Research Consultation Request Form to find your librarian and contact them.

If you need immediate help, you can contact a librarian through our AskAtkins email or Live Chat.