Research Guides: POLS 3030: Internet of Things Technology, Policy and Law: Articles

Locating Peer Reviewed Articles

Peer reviewed articles are written by academics and scholars for academics and scholars. To be accepted by a peer reviewed journal an article must be reviewed by experts (peers) in that field. This review acceptance process is more stringent than for scholarly articles.

Health Care Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and full text articles primarily for nursing and allied health professionals. Coverage from 1937 to present.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Over 4 million citations and abstracts, to worldwide biomedical literature, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

Education Databases

ERIC Database (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Database of full-text journals in educational research.
Educational Administration Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration.

Journal Articles

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A great database to get started with for your research on any topic. Use it to search for articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, newspapers, and magazines.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science, international relations, law, public administration, and public policy.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources. PAIS Archive is included in this database and includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, and finance.
International Security and Counter Terrorism Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles, news feeds, reports, books, and summaries covering regional conflict, terrorism, domestic security, and risk management options.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains records covering topics such as: criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons, police and policing, criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and books covering a wide range of disciplines; it also includes some limited primary source collections.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Literature across all fields of science and social science. Comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science and social science. Provides access to more than 850 of Elsevier's primary research journals, which focus on scientific, medical, biomedical and technical areas.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed publications of the IEEE in the areas of computing sciences, electronics, and electrical engineering.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Part of the Web of Science Core Collection, this is an index to the core journal literature in the social and behavioral sciences. Although you can search for topics, the main emphasis of the database is to locate articles that CITED a particular article or book.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Journals in the physical/life sciences and in the social sciences.

Working Papers, Policy Briefs, Case Studies

Newspaper Articles

LexisNexis News (Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
National and international news, business news and company reports including articles from magazines, newspapers and newsletters.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspaper articles covering international, national, and local news. Includes the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Charlotte Observer, and many others.

Online Newspapers
International, national and local newspapers available online. Free or open source.

Films

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, and finance.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
This resource provides high quality streaming videos about a range of subjects. The videos include award winning documentaries plus interviews, training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a multi-disciplinary collection of documentary and educational films that have been assigned to courses for in-class instruction and out-of-class assignments.

U.S. Newspapers

New York Times (1980 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Major resource for national and international news and current events, provided by Nexis Uni. In the guided search, choose "A Publication", then your search term(s), then choose "New York Times" in the "Find Publication" box.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Full text of The Washington Post newspaper from Dec 4, 1996 - present