E-Resources Digest

Atkins Library recently acquired a handful of handbooks and research works from Edward Elgar Publishing. Along with the titles we acquired, there are also a number of Open Access titles available to be accessed. These titles cover subjects across the social sciences including Business & Entrepreneurship, Marketing, Political Science, Public Policy, and more.

Here are a few titles that can be found: 

• Research Handbook on Motivation in Public Administration by Edmund Stazyk and Randall Davis
• How to be a Reflexive Researcher by Paul Hibbert
• Research Handbook on Entrepreneurial Behavior, Practice and Process edited by William Gartner and Bruce Teague
• Experiential Exercises in the Classroom by Mary Foster, Vicki Fairbanks Taylor, and Jennie Walker

These new titles are hosted on their content platform, Elgaronline, and are ready for you to browse at your convenience!

The correspondence of William James is a 12-volume set containing a vast majority of known letters between William James, a renowned American philosopher, and his novelist brother, Henry James, over the course of 2 decades. 

The month of May is known as Mental Health Awareness month and the meaning behind the purpose of this month is different for everyone:

• To raise awareness on the prevalence of poor mental health

• To honor the memory of those who we have parted ways with because of mental illness

• To better understand the realities others face in the wake of mental illness

• To take time for ourselves and focus on our own mental health needs
   

The list is endless, but the idea is still the same— Mental Health Awareness month is meant to remind everyone that we are not alone in our feelings, our struggles, and our pain. We use this month to continue to advocate for ourselves and our society, to show support to those in need, to educate ourselves, and to connect with one another about our own experiences. 

Here are a few library resources to get you started exploring ideas, stories, and concepts surrounding mental health.

Documentaries and Videos

Robin Williams: Come Inside My Mind — a documentary taking you through the magnificent life of Robin Williams, a beloved actor who suffered from depression and dementia. 

You can also watch Feel Good: Natural Remedies for Depression to learn about what you can do to make yourself feel good when you’re just not having a good day.

Databases

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints — This is an all-around great database to view the different perspectives, viewpoints, etc. surrounding a variety of issues and topics. Mental health continues to be a topic of discussion with a variety of controversial points. You can use this database to explore arguments and issues to better understand the state of mental health in our society. You can use this link to take you to the main topic page in the Opposing Viewpoints database for Mental Health.

NovelList Plus — This database allows you to explore books based on genre, age, writing style, and much more. Then, if you see something you’re interested in, you can search our catalog or your local public library catalog to see if we have that book on hand. Some subjects of interest are well-being, mental health, and self-care.

Atkins Collections

Atkins Library Self Care Collection is new to the library and provides you with resources to support your mental well-being. The collection includes books and devices such as white noise machines, a buddha board, light therapy and more. You can view the Self Care Collection LibGuide for more information and browse the full collection in our catalog.

There will be a scheduled site outage for Project Euclid from 6:00 - 8:00 PM on Thursday, May 12th.

Resources that appear in the catalog to belong to these collections will be inaccessible during that time:

• Project Euclid Complete
• Project Euclid Open Access Journals (Freely Accessible)

If you try to access a journal or article from the catalog, please select a different full-text service or wait until the website is back up and running.

Reporters Without Borders (RSF) strives to fight global censorship, and has used a popular open-world game to connect the world to banned literature. The Uncensored Library was released in 2020 within Minecraft and provides access to journal articles that were deemed forbidden. Using Minecraft is a unique way to reach the younger population and provide access to information that was condemned and hidden from the public.  

These articles, that are compiled into books within the Uncensored Library, come from countries that are ranked poorly on the World's Freedom Index. Among these journal articles include those created by journalists who fought to uncover and share the truth, and paid an unfortunate price for doing so. 

The Uncensored Library on Minecraft is available for Windows and Mac users (sorry Console players!) and you can find information on their website about how to access the library on Minecraft. You can also find out more by visiting one of the sources below. 

Reporters Without Borders. (2020). The uncensored library. https://www.uncensoredlibrary.com/en

Coldewey, D. (2020, March 12). Reporters Without Borders uses Minecraft to sneak censored works across borders. TechCrunch. https://tcrn.ch/38PXG5X

Nelius, J. (2020, March 12). This Minecraft Library Provides a Platform for Censored Journalists. Gizmodo. https://gizmodo.com/this-minecraft-library-provides-a-platform-for-censored-1842298748

Peet, L. (2022, April 7). Reporters Without Borders’ Uncensored Library Uses Minecraft To Provide Access to Censored Work. Library Journal. Retrieved April 23, 2022, from https://www.libraryjournal.com/story/reporters-without-borders-uncensored-library-uses-minecraft-to-provide-access-to-censored-work

Woodyatt, A. (2020, March 13). Minecraft hosts uncensored library full of banned journalism. CNN Business. https://edition.cnn.com/2020/03/13/tech/minecraft-uncensored-library-scli-intl/index.html

May 2022
 

May’s E-Resource of the month is Academic Video Online from Alexander Street Press.

Academic Video Online is a comprehensive streaming video database with over 70,000 titles that span across a variety of disciplines including nursing, music and performing arts, anthropology, and much more. The database offers a variety of resources that can expand on existing coursework and enhance learning experiences outside of the books including documentaries, award-winning films, and even general instructional materials. It also hosts content produced, filmed, and distributed by top names in the media industry including Sony Pictures Classics, the Wall Street Journal, BBC, and more. 

Alexander Street Press supports the need for accessible content and is motivated in ensuring their collections to every person. Academic Video Online provides closed-captioning for over 80% of their content and searchable transcripts for over 95% of their content, with the ability for users to request a title to be transcribed if it hasn’t been done so already. You can access their full accessibility statement online for free.

So whether you’re writing a research paper, teaching a course for the upcoming semester, or are just looking to discover something new, Academic Video Online is guaranteed to enhance any learning experience. 

If you have any questions or comments about this resource, you can reach out to our First-Year and Online Learning Librarian, Marc Bess (email: mcbess@uncc.edu).