E-Resources Digest

September 2022

For the month of September, we are highlighting America Latina en Video / Latin America in Video from Alexander Street Press, a collection of streaming videos exploring issues in Latin America as told, created and produced by Latin Americans.

Containing over 300 films, this collection of documentaries and performances from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The collection focuses on issues related to Latin America, including human rights, violence, immigration, political history and popular culture. The subjects and topics covered in this collection span across the social sciences including Latin American studies, sociology, anthropology, religion and more. The videos in the collection are predominantly in Spanish, English and Portuguese.

\Whether you’re a student creating a source list for your research paper on gender identity in Latin America or a professor looking to incorporate videos about Latin American art and dance into your coursework, America Latina en Video / Latin America in Video will bring a unique perspective of the region into your studies. 

You can view more Collections News and past resource spotlights on the Library Collections News page. You can also view the Electronic Resources Guide for more information about our online resources, troubleshooting tips, and resource updates.

Hispanic Life in America, Series 3 (2010-Present) is one of the two DEI collections recently added to our collection, thanks to our NewsBank Access World News Research Collection upgrade. As recorded by the news media, this collection captures the experience and impact of Hispanic Americans from 2010 to present day. Featuring multidisciplinary content in a variety of formats, the resources in this collection support discussions on Hispanic heritage, history, culture, and daily life. You will find this collection to be a helpful tool for your independent research, course assignments, and personal pursuit of knowledge. 

The collection is organized by events, topics and eras with subtopics for each listed section such as historical reflections, religion, arts and much more. While you can search and browse as you would any other database, you can also use the collection's "map search" feature where you can filter your search results to only include content from a particular location.

We want your feedback on this new resource. Leave a comment to let us know what you think!