Atkins Library is more than just books and a place to study. Join us for exciting activities and events, like Therapy Dogs, author talks, Area 49 workshops, and more! Whether you're interested in gaming, archives, or just want to connect with other students, Atkins is a hub of activity on campus!
Follow us on Niner Engage and on Instagram @cltatkins to stay in the loop about library events!
Feeling stressed, missing a pet at home, or just want a quick boost? Come visit our fluffy friends! A group of certified therapy dogs visit us every semester during Gold Rush (first week of classes) and final exam week.
One of our signature events is Bad Art Day, which is held in the Makerspace every Gold Rush (first week of classes). Embrace silliness, meet new people, and make bad art!
Did you know we have a Cozy Game Collection? We hosted Cozy Game Night in the Gaming Lab when we launched the collection, which is full of cute, calming video games!
Every April, Atkins joins campus in celebrating Earth Month by hosting the Wear, Care, Repair workshop in the Makerspace, where you can get help mending clothes and upcycling old garments!
The Self-Care Collection contains books and devices to support your mental health and wellbeing. There are over 100 books in this collection, covering a wide range of topics.
Self-Care books are located on a special bookcase next to the spinning DVD racks near the 1st floor entrance. Come browse in person, or look online.
The devices in the collection include white noise machines, guided meditation machines, various color-changing lamps, star projectors, portable karaoke machines, laptop stands and more!
Self-Care devices are held behind the Information & Research Desk, and are available on a first-come, first-served basis.
Atkins Library isn't just a source of academic texts and journals. We also carry a robust leisure reading collection for those that enjoy reading the latest bestsellers and popular titles!
The Popular Reading Collection is available to the left of our main entrance on the first floor and features both fiction and nonfiction titles. The Greenbox DVD Collection is next to the Popular Reading Collection, and is displayed on spinning DVD racks.
